Listen now:
NBC Sports: Click here for NBC Sports Radio live
MLB Baseball
All Sports | Scoreboard | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#40
Bartolo Colon
ERA W-L K
4.42 12-11 125
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 5-11 / 283 NFBC ADP: 408.43
Position: SPBorn: 5/24/1973 Birthplace: Altamira, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Indians (1993)


Latest News
Sep. 1 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-Colon struck out nine over eight scoreless innings to defeat the Phillies Monday.
Analysis: Colon blanked Philadelphia through seven frames five days earlier to notch just his second win since June 12. The 42-year-old had gone 1-4 with a 6.08 ERA through his first seven starts following the All-Star break.
Aug. 27 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Colon earned just his second win in 12 starts with a 9-4 victory against Philadelphia on Wednesday.
Analysis: Colon (11-11, 4.68 ERA) yielded five hits and fanned eight in seven scoreless innings. He was 1-7 with a 5.54 ERA in his previous 11 games and gave up seven runs in 3 2-3 innings in Colorado in his prior start Aug. 21.
July 2 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Colon gave up three hits and struck out eight in seven scoreless innings Wednesday against the Chicago Cubs, but the New York Mets lost 2-0 in 11 innings.
Analysis: Colon (9-6, 4.55 ERA) did not get a decision for the first time in 28 starts. He allowed 11 runs in 10 1-3 innings while losing each of his previous two.
June 25 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Colon fell to 9-6 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Milwaukee spoiled Colon's attempt to become the second 10-game winner in the NL. He was charged with four runs and 10 hits in six innings.
June 13 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Colon moved into a tie for the major league lead Friday by earning a 5-3 victory over Atlanta.
Analysis: Colon (9-4, 4.41 ERA) gave up two runs in six innings in his third win in four starts. He's allowed three runs or fewer while pitching at least six innings in every game in that stretch.
June 7 11:14 AM PT12:14 PM MT1:14 PM CT2:14 PM ET14:14 ET18:14 GMT2:14 11:14 AM MST1:14 PM EST1:44 PM VEN22:14 UAE1:14 PM CT-Colon had another solid outing Saturday and registered a hit in his third consecutive start, but he took a 2-1 loss to Arizona.
Analysis: Colon (8-4, 4.52 ERA) gave up fewer than three runs for the first time in six starts by allowing two in seven innings to the Diamondbacks.
June 1 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Gordon was 2 for 4 Sunday against the Mets, extending his hitting streak to nine games.
Analysis: Gordon is batting a big league-best .377.
June 1 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Colon recorded his eighth win Sunday against Miami, giving up three runs over seven innings.
Analysis: Colon is 8-3 with a 4.72 ERA through 11 starts.
May 26 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Colon notched his seventh win Monday against Philadelphia, allowing three runs over six innings.
Analysis: Colon, who also recorded his single hit of the season, is 7-3 despite an unimpressive 4.82 ERA.
May 6 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Colon struck out nine and walked none in 7 2-3 innings Tuesday.
Analysis: Colon allowed just one run, lowering his ERA to 2.90. He has walked only one batter in 40 1-3 innings.
Apr. 18 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Colon had his third consecutive solid start Friday.
Analysis: The 41-year-old allowed one run through seven innings against Miami to move to 3-0. His 91 pitches Friday were his most of the season.
Apr. 7 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Colon shined despite being the oldest opening day starter in franchise history, striking out eight while limiting Washington to one run and three hits over six innings in a 3-1 victory Monday.
Analysis: The 42-year-old continues to look more than capable after tossing 202 1-3 innings for New York last season.
Mar. 23 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Colon, not Matt Harvey, has been picked to start the New York Mets' opener at Washington on April 6.
Analysis: Colon was 15-13 with a 4.09 ERA last year and at 41 will become the oldest opening-day starting pitcher in the major leagues since April 2006, when 43-year-old Jamie Moyer was on the mound for Seattle and 42-year-old Randy Johnson for the New York Yankees.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
1997 Cle 4 7 0 - 0 19 17 1 94.0 107 66 59 12 45 1 66 1.62 5.65
1998 Cle 14 9 0 - 0 31 31 6 204.0 205 91 84 15 79 5 158 1.39 3.71
1999 Cle 18 5 0 - 0 32 32 1 205.0 185 97 90 24 76 5 161 1.27 3.95
2000 Cle 15 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 188.0 163 86 81 21 98 4 212 1.39 3.88
2001 Cle 14 12 0 - 0 34 34 1 222.1 220 106 101 26 90 2 201 1.39 4.09
2002 Cle 10 4 0 - 0 16 16 4 116.1 104 37 33 11 31 1 75 1.16 2.55
2002 Mon 10 4 0 - 0 17 17 4 117.0 115 48 43 9 39 4 74 1.32 3.31
2002 Tot 20 8 0 - 0 33 33 8 233.1 219 85 76 20 70 5 149 1.24 2.93
2003 CWS 15 13 0 - 0 34 34 9 242.0 223 107 104 30 67 3 173 1.20 3.87
2004 Ana 18 12 0 - 0 34 34 0 208.1 215 122 116 38 71 1 158 1.37 5.01
2005 LAA 21 8 0 - 0 33 33 2 222.2 215 93 86 26 43 0 157 1.16 3.48
2006 LAA 1 5 0 - 0 10 10 1 56.1 71 39 32 11 11 0 31 1.46 5.11
2007 LAA 6 8 0 - 0 19 18 0 99.1 132 74 70 15 29 1 76 1.62 6.34
2008 Bos 4 2 0 - 0 7 7 0 39.0 44 23 17 5 10 0 27 1.38 3.92
2009 CWS 3 6 0 - 0 12 12 0 62.1 69 42 29 13 21 3 38 1.44 4.19
2011 NYY 8 10 0 - 0 29 26 1 164.1 172 85 73 21 40 3 135 1.29 4.00
2012 Oak 10 9 0 - 0 24 24 0 152.1 161 62 58 17 23 3 91 1.21 3.43
2013 Oak 18 6 0 - 0 30 30 3 190.1 193 60 56 14 29 0 117 1.17 2.65
2014 NYM 15 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 202.1 218 97 92 22 30 3 151 1.23 4.09
2015 NYM 12 11 0 - 0 27 26 0 161.0 181 83 79 22 21 5 125 1.25 4.42
Career 216 152 0 - 0 469 462 35 2947.0 2993 1418 1303 352 853 44 2226 1.31 3.98

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
1997 Cle 19 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
1998 Cle 31 2 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
1999 Cle 32 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2000 Cle 30 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2001 Cle 34 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2002 Cle 16 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2002 Mon 17 39 1 5 0 0 0 3 0 20 0 0 .128 .146 .128
2002 Tot 33 45 1 6 0 0 0 3 0 23 0 0 .133 .149 .133
2003 CWS 34 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2004 Ana 34 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2005 LAA 33 3 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2006 LAA 10 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 LAA 19 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Bos 7 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 NYY 29 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Oak 24 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Oak 30 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 NYM 31 62 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 33 0 0 .032 .032 .048
2015 NYM 27 48 2 7 1 0 0 3 0 20 0 0 .146 .160 .167
Career 469 206 6 19 2 0 0 8 0 109 0 0 .092 .100 .102

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
1998 Cle Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 1 14.2 9 2 2 1 7 1 6 1.23
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 1 1 1 3 1 3 1.59
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 4 1 1 0 4 0 3 1.00
1999 Cle Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 11 9 9 3 4 0 12 9.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 11 9 9 3 4 0 12 9.00
2001 Cle Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 12 3 3 0 6 0 13 1.84
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 12 3 3 0 6 0 13 1.84
2004 Ana Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 3 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 3 4.50
2005 LAA Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 10 4 4 0 2 0 7 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 10 4 4 0 2 0 7 4.50
2013 Oak Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 10 3 3 0 0 0 4 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 10 3 3 0 0 0 4 4.50
Career 2 4 0 - 0 10 10 1 58.1 59 24 24 5 22 1 45 3.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1920 94 83 88.3 84.73
Slider 219 86 77 82.2 9.66
Changeup 127 84 78 81.1 5.6

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.