Listen now:
NBC Sports: Click here for NBC Sports Radio live
MLB Baseball
All Sports | Scoreboard | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#24
Miguel Cabrera
AVG HR RBI
.361 17 65
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240 NFBC ADP: 5.55
Position: 1BBorn: 4/18/1983 Birthplace: Maracay, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Marlins (1999)


Latest News
Aug. 30 11:34 AM PT12:34 PM MT1:34 PM CT2:34 PM ET14:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE1:34 PM CT-Cabrera went 0 for 4 with two strikeouts but collected enough at-bats to qualify for the AL batting average lead.
Analysis: Cabrera is batting .361, well ahead of Cleveland's Jason Kipnis, who entered play Saturday batting .324.
Aug. 27 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Cabrera had another productive night Wednesday, hitting a two-run homer against the Angels.
Analysis: The 2012 AL Triple Crown winner is batting a torrid .523 (23 for 44) with 11 RBIs and 12 runs scored over an 11-game hitting streak that has raised his season average to .370.
Aug. 26 11:14 AM PT12:14 PM MT1:14 PM CT2:14 PM ET14:14 ET18:14 GMT2:14 11:14 AM MST1:14 PM EST1:44 PM VEN22:14 UAE1:14 PM CT-Cabrera stayed locked in Tuesday, going 3 for 5 with a double and three RBIs against the Angels.
Analysis: Cabrera is batting .500 in 11 games since returning from injury and an absurd .371 in 88 games this season.
Aug. 25 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Cabrera continued his tear Monday, going 2 for 5 at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Cabrera is 19 for 36 (.528) during a 19-game hitting streak, ripping eight doubles in that span.
Aug. 24 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 4 on Sunday.
Analysis: Cabrera has 17 hits in his last 31 ABs as he continues to showcase his greatness. He's the only reason to pay attention to this floundering Tigers team.
Aug. 23 12:08 PM PT1:08 PM MT2:08 PM CT3:08 PM ET15:08 ET19:08 GMT3:08 12:08 PM MST2:08 PM EST2:38 PM VEN23:08 UAE2:08 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Cabrera is 15 for 30 in his last eight games, which is about what you would expect from one of the game's shining lights.
Aug. 22 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Cabrera matched a career high with three doubles in a 2-0 loss to Texas on Friday night.
Analysis: Cabrera, now batting .363, is 13 for 26 with six doubles since returning from a strained left calf Aug. 14.
Aug. 21 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 2 with two walks Thursday.
Analysis: Cabrera is kicking butt, going 10 for 19 in his last five games.
Aug. 20 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Cabrera was 3 for 5 and doubled for the third straight game Wednesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Cabrera is 8 for 17 with six runs scored in his last four games after going hitless in his first one back from injury.
Aug. 17 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Cabrera hooked up his fantasy owners Sunday. Cabrera homered, doubled and drove in three runs for Detroit.
Analysis: Cabrera, who returned Friday from a six-week stint on disabled list, hit his 16th home run. Cabrera didn't get a hit in his first game back on Friday, but has four hits in the two games since then to raise his average to .352. "He looks good," manager Brad Ausmus said.
July 3 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET0:25 GMT8:25 5:25 PM MST7:25 PM EST7:55 PM VEN4:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Cabrera is off the disabled list and back in the starting lineup. The two-time AL MVP was activated for Friday night's game at Houston. He was playing first base and batting third.
Analysis: Cabrera hasn't played since July 3 because of a strained left calf. He began the day batting .350 with 15 home runs and 54 RBIs in 77 games. The Tigers are five games behind in the race for the second AL wild-card spot. This was Cabrera's first stint on the disabled list. He's in his 13th major league season.
June 27 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Cabrera was 3 for 4 with three doubles Friday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Cabrera has hit safely in 12 of 13, batting .479 with eight extra-base hits and 14 RBIs.
June 23 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 3 with his 52nd RBI Monday at Cleveland.
Analysis: Cabrear is 17 for 34 with 13 RBIs in his last 10 contests.
June 22 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 3 on Sunday.
Analysis: Cabrera should be used by fantasy owners Monday. He is 22 for 34 (.647) with five homers, 15 RBIs and a 1.147 slugging percentage against the Tribe.
June 20 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Cabrera needs no introduction to baseball fans or fantasy owners. He can mash with the best of them as evidenced by his whopping 1.044 OPS.
June 18 12:23 PM PT1:23 PM MT2:23 PM CT3:23 PM ET15:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE2:23 PM CT-Cabrera hit a three-run homer off Johnny Cueto on Wednesday.
Analysis: Cabrera now has 51 RBIs and a 1.045 OPS.
June 16 5:44 PM PT6:44 PM MT7:44 PM CT8:44 PM ET20:44 ET0:44 GMT8:44 5:44 PM MST7:44 PM EST8:14 PM VEN4:44 UAE (+1)7:44 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 4 with his 13th double Monday against the Reds.
Analysis: Don't look now, but Cabrera is third in the majors with a .344 batting average. His 47 RBIs also place him sixth.
June 15 11:41 AM PT12:41 PM MT1:41 PM CT2:41 PM ET14:41 ET18:41 GMT2:41 11:41 AM MST1:41 PM EST2:11 PM VEN22:41 UAE1:41 PM CT-Cabrera showcased his prodigious talent yet again Sunday.
Analysis: Cabrera hit his 14th homer, a solo drive in the fourth inning that went an estimated 450 feet into the left edge of the batter's eye. It landed close to the 452-footer he hit Friday night. He went 3 for 4 with three runs scored Sunday and was 7 for 11 in the weekend series, proving once again that he is one of the greatest to play the game.
June 14 10:03 AM PT11:03 AM MT12:03 PM CT1:03 PM ET13:03 ET17:03 GMT1:03 10:03 AM MST12:03 PM EST12:33 PM VEN21:03 UAE12:03 PM CT-Cabrera was brilliant as usual on Saturday.
Analysis: Cabrera was 2 for 4 and has a robust 1.014 OPS.
June 13 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Cabrera hit a three-run homer and an RBI double in the Detroit Tigers' 4-0 win over the Cleveland Indians on Friday night.
Analysis: The superstar is up to 43 RBIs with a robust 1.013 OPS as he continues to dominate the sport. "It's just Miggy being Miggy," Detroit third baseman Nick Castellanos said.
June 11 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Cabrera went 0 for 3 in Wednesday's 12-3 loss to the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: Cabrera's streak of reaching base in 27 straight games ended.
June 10 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Cabrera was 3 for 3 with his 39th RBI Tuesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Many experts thought Cabrera's reign of terror as one of baseball's best hitters was approaching its end, but all he's done is post a 1.001 OPS through 58 games.
June 7 9:46 AM PT10:46 AM MT11:46 AM CT12:46 PM ET12:46 ET16:46 GMT0:46 9:46 AM MST11:46 AM EST12:16 PM VEN20:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-Cabrera's two-run home run in the fifth inning Saturday extended his streak.
Analysis: Cabrera extended his on-base streak to 25 games.
June 6 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Cabrera extended his on-base streak to 24 games on Friday.
Analysis: Cabrera was hardly impressive, going 0 for 4 with a walk.
May 30 8:56 AM PT9:56 AM MT10:56 AM CT11:56 AM ET11:56 ET15:56 GMT23:56 8:56 AM MST10:56 AM EST11:26 AM VEN19:56 UAE10:56 AM CT-Cabrera reached base three times Friday.
Analysis: Cabrera had a single and two walks but could only watch as Albert Pujols jacked one out of the yard as the Angels prevailed.
May 27 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Cabrera extended his hitting streak to 13 games with a ninth-inning single Tuesday.
Analysis: Cabrera returned to the Tigers lineup after sitting out Monday.
May 25 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Cabrera was 2 for 4 with a double and home run Sunday against the Astros.
Analysis: Cabrera is mashing the ball, hitting .413 over his last 12 games with nine extra-base hits and 11 RBIs.
May 16 12:04 PM PT1:04 PM MT2:04 PM CT3:04 PM ET15:04 ET19:04 GMT3:04 12:04 PM MST2:04 PM EST2:34 PM VEN23:04 UAE2:04 PM CT-Cabrera has hit his 400th career home run, a milestone that became official after an early rain delay.
Analysis: Cabrera connected for a solo drive to straightaway center in the first inning at St. Louis on Saturday. It broke a tie with Andres Galarraga for the most homers by a Venezuelan-born player. Cabrera's 10th homer of the season was his fourth in three days. His 262nd homer with Detroit tied him with Willie Horton for fourth on the franchise list.
May 15 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Cabrera was 3 for 5 with two home runs and five RBIs in Thursday's win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Cabrera had been 2 for 17 in his previous five games.
May 4 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Cabrera was 3 for 4 with a two-run homer in Sunday's win in Kansas City.
Analysis: He's got three home runs in five games after hitting as many in his first 21 contests.
Apr. 30 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Cabrera hit two home runs in Wednesday's 10-7 win at Minnesota. He had three hits and knocked in four.
Analysis: Cabrera looks to be entering another hot streak after hitting .255 with one homer and four RBIs over his previous 14 games.
Apr. 27 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Cabrera went 3 for 4 and hit his third home run of the season Sunday.
Analysis: The former MVP upped his batting average to .377 with the three-hit performance.
Apr. 13 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Cabrera was 4 for 4 with his first two homers of the season Sunday at Cleveland.
Analysis: Some anticipated Cabrera to lose another step this season as he continues to age, but so far, so good - he's hitting .520 with eight RBIs through six games.
Apr. 12 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET19:44 GMT3:44 12:44 PM MST2:44 PM EST3:14 PM VEN23:44 UAE2:44 PM CT-Cabrera was a fantasy beast Saturday.
Analysis: Cabrera went 4 for 5 to prove once again why he is one of the game's most feared sluggers.
Apr. 11 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Cabrera had three hits and drove in a run in an 8-4 win over Cleveland on Friday.
Analysis: The Detroit Tigers slugger was 2 for 11 in his first three games.
Apr. 3 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Cabrera hit his third home run of the spring, doubled and drove in three runs Friday for the Detroit Tigers in an 11-5 loss to the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: Cabrera is a once-in-a-generation talent who continues to astound the baseball world with his batting exploits.
Mar. 22 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Cabrera made his Grapefruit League debut on Sunday for Detroit, and went 1-for-3 with a single and two strikeouts.
Analysis: Manager Brad Ausmus said Cabrera would be designated hitter on Tuesday and may be ready to start playing at first base.
Mar. 21 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Cabrera and Victor Martinez are back on the field after rehabbing injuries.
Analysis: Both played in minor league games against the Houston Astros on Saturday for their first live pitching of the spring. Cabrera underwent surgery to remove a bone spur from his right ankle and had a stress fracture repaired in his right foot.
Feb. 18 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Cabrera says it's too early to say whether he'll be ready for opening day.
Analysis: The Detroit first baseman had surgery in late October to remove bone spurs in his ankle and repair a stress fracture in the arch of his foot. He's been hitting in the cage, and he says every day he feels his ankle getting stronger.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2003 Fla 87 314 39 84 21 3 12 62 25 84 0 2 .268 .325 .468
2004 Fla 160 603 101 177 31 1 33 112 68 148 5 2 .294 .366 .512
2005 Fla 158 613 106 198 43 2 33 116 64 125 1 0 .323 .385 .561
2006 Fla 158 576 112 195 50 2 26 114 86 108 9 6 .339 .430 .568
2007 Fla 157 588 91 188 38 2 34 119 79 127 2 1 .320 .401 .565
2008 Det 160 616 85 180 36 2 37 127 56 126 1 0 .292 .349 .537
2009 Det 160 611 96 198 34 0 34 103 68 107 6 2 .324 .396 .547
2010 Det 150 548 111 180 45 1 38 126 89 95 3 3 .328 .420 .622
2011 Det 161 572 111 197 48 0 30 105 108 89 2 1 .344 .448 .586
2012 Det 161 622 109 205 40 0 44 139 66 98 4 1 .330 .393 .606
2013 Det 148 555 103 193 26 1 44 137 90 94 3 0 .348 .442 .636
2014 Det 159 611 101 191 52 1 25 109 60 117 1 1 .313 .371 .524
2015 Det 92 335 55 121 25 1 17 65 62 67 1 1 .361 .463 .594
Career 1911 7164 1220 2307 489 16 407 1434 921 1385 38 20 .322 .400 .565

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2003 Fla Total 17 68 11 18 2 0 4 12 4 19 0 0 .265 .315 .471
    LDS 4 14 1 4 2 0 0 3 1 6 0 0 .286 .333 .429
    LCS 7 30 9 10 0 0 3 6 2 6 0 0 .333 .394 .633
    WS 6 24 1 4 0 0 1 3 1 7 0 0 .167 .200 .292
2011 Det Total 11 35 7 11 4 0 4 10 12 11 2 0 .314 .489 .771
    LDS 5 15 2 3 0 0 1 3 5 5 1 0 .200 .400 .400
    LCS 6 20 5 8 4 0 3 7 7 6 1 0 .400 .556 1.050
2012 Det Total 13 49 5 13 3 0 2 8 7 7 0 0 .265 .368 .449
    LDS 5 20 1 5 2 0 0 1 1 1 0 0 .250 .318 .350
    LCS 4 16 3 5 1 0 1 4 3 2 0 0 .313 .421 .563
    WS 4 13 1 3 0 0 1 3 3 4 0 0 .231 .375 .462
2013 Det Total 11 42 4 11 0 0 2 7 3 9 1 0 .262 .311 .405
    LDS 5 20 1 5 0 0 1 3 1 2 0 0 .250 .286 .400
    LCS 6 22 3 6 0 0 1 4 2 7 1 0 .273 .333 .409
2014 Det Total 3 11 2 4 1 0 1 1 1 2 0 0 .364 .417 .727
    LDS 3 11 2 4 1 0 1 1 1 2 0 0 .364 .417 .727
Career 55 205 29 57 10 0 13 38 27 48 3 0 .278 .368 .517


w10 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.