MLB Baseball

Edwin Encarnacion
.277 39 111
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 230 NFBC ADP: 12.58
Position: 1BBorn: 1/7/1983 Birthplace: La Romana, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Rangers (2000)

Latest News
Nov. 3 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET18:30 GMT2:30 11:30 AM MST1:30 PM EST2:00 PM VEN22:30 UAE12:30 PM CT-The Toronto Blue Jays have exercised a 2016 option on Encarnacion.
Analysis: Encarnacion, who had 39 homers and 111 RBIs, will earn $10 million.
Oct. 17 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Toronto manager John Gibbons said Edwin Encarnacion is back in Toronto's lineup for Game 2 of the ALCS, determined to "deal with the pain" of an injured finger.
Analysis: Batting fourth as the DH, Encarnacion was removed in the eighth inning of Kansas City's 5-0 win on Friday night when his left middle finger swelled up again. Gibbons said Encarnacion underwent an MRI before deciding to play on Saturday. Encarnacion, who hit 39 home runs and had 111 RBIs for the East Division champs, has struggled with the finger much of the year, missing games in August and September.
Oct. 3 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Encarnacion homered again in Friday's win at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Encarnacion has left the yard in three straight games.
Oct. 1 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Encarnacion homered for the second straight game in the opener of Wednesday's doubleheader.
Analysis: He has seven home runs since Sept. 11 and 37 on the year. His career high is 42.
Sep. 29 8:04 AM PT9:04 AM MT10:04 AM CT11:04 AM ET11:04 ET15:04 GMT23:04 8:04 AM MST10:04 AM EST10:34 AM VEN19:04 UAE10:04 AM CT-Encarnacion hit a solo home run on Monday.
Analysis: He has six homers and a 1.079 OPS in his last 15 games.
Sep. 21 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Encarnacion went 2 for 4 against Boston on Sunday.
Analysis: Encarnacion owns a 1.161 OPS over his last 12 games.
Sep. 20 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Encarnacion went 2 for 3 with a homer and three RBIs Saturday.
Analysis: The homer was Encarnacion's fourth in seven games and 34th of the season. He continues to wield a hot bat, having gone 12 for 29 (.414) with nine RBIs over his last eight games.
Sep. 17 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Encarnacion was 3 for 3 Wednesday against the Braves.
Analysis: Encarnacion is batting .414 over his last eight games and his .914 OPS is the second-highest of his career.
Sep. 12 11:59 AM PT12:59 PM MT1:59 PM CT2:59 PM ET14:59 ET18:59 GMT2:59 11:59 AM MST1:59 PM EST2:29 PM VEN22:59 UAE1:59 PM CT-Encarnacion was 2 for 4 with a two-run homer and three runs scored Friday against the Yankees.
Analysis: He's heating up again after an 0 for 11 stretch followed his 26-game hitting streak. Encarnacion is 7 for 19 with five RBIs in five games since.
Sep. 2 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Encarnacion had his 26-game hitting streak end after he went 0 for 2 with an RBI Tuesday.
Analysis: It was still quite a run for the slugger, who batted .414 with 11 home runs and 35 RBI over the streak. Encarnacion has a whopping 27 RBIs and nine homers over his last 13 contests.
Sep. 1 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Encarnacion extended his hitting streak to 26 games Monday, going 2 for 4 against Cleveland.
Analysis: Encarnacion is scorching, batting .412 during his hitting streak with 35 RBIs and 23 extra-base hits.
Aug. 31 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Encarnacion was 2 for 3 with his 30th home run Sunday against Detroit.
Analysis: Encarnacion is batting .409 during a 25-game hitting streak and has a ridiculous nine homers and 26 RBIs in his last 11.
Aug. 30 10:47 AM PT11:47 AM MT12:47 PM CT1:47 PM ET13:47 ET17:47 GMT1:47 10:47 AM MST12:47 PM EST1:17 PM VEN21:47 UAE12:47 PM CT-Encarnacion connected in the first inning against Detroit, homering for the third straight at-bat.
Analysis: Encarnacion hit three home runs and matched a Blue Jays record with nine RBIs in Saturday's 15-1 win over the Tigers. Sunday's solo drive extended Encarnacion's hitting streak to 25 games, the longest in the majors since a 28-game run by Colorado's Nolan Arenado in 2014.
Aug. 29 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Encarnacion kept his hitting streak alive with a monster game Saturday, tying a Blue Jays record with nine RBIs and hitting three home runs against the Tigers.
Analysis: Encarnacion has now hit safely in 24 straight games, the longest streak in the majors this season. The slugger is batting a torrid .400 with 10 homers and 34 RBIs over that stretch.
Aug. 28 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Encarnacion ran his hitting streak to 22 games with an RBI double Thursday against Texas.
Analysis: He's hitting .386 with seven home runs and 24 RBIs during the career-high tear.
Aug. 27 9:15 AM PT10:15 AM MT11:15 AM CT12:15 PM ET12:15 ET16:15 GMT0:15 9:15 AM MST11:15 AM EST11:45 AM VEN20:15 UAE11:15 AM CT-Encarnacion had a grand slam Wednesday to extend his hitting streak to 21 games.
Analysis: The slugger is batting .392 with seven home runs, nine doubles and 23 RBIs over the streak. He's homered in three straight games and has knocked in 12 runs over his last four.
Aug. 26 11:33 AM PT12:33 PM MT1:33 PM CT2:33 PM ET14:33 ET18:33 GMT2:33 11:33 AM MST1:33 PM EST2:03 PM VEN22:33 UAE1:33 PM CT-Encarnacion extended his hitting streak to 20 games Tuesday by homering for the fourth time in six games Tuesday against the Rangers.
Analysis: Encarnacion is hitting .405 with six home runs, nine doubles and 19 RBIs during a 20-game hitting streak.
Aug. 24 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Encarnacion had little problem extending his hitting streak to 19 games, going 4 for 4 with a homer and four RBI Sunday.
Analysis: Encarnacion, who drove in three runs on Saturday, is batting a torrid .414 with five homers and 18 RBIs over the streak. Three of the homers have come in Toronto's last five games.
Aug. 23 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Encarnacion extended his hitting streak to 18 games while driving in three runs Saturday.
Analysis: Encarnacion is hitting .379 in his magical run at the dish.
Aug. 22 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Encarnacion extended his MLB-best hit streak to 17 games in a 9-2 win over the Los Angeles Angels on Friday.
Analysis: Encarnacion is batting .371 with seven doubles, four homers and 11 RBIs in his career-high streak.
Aug. 20 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Encarnacion extended his hitting streak to 16 games with his 23rd homer Wednesday at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Encarnacion is batting .379 with 11 RBIs during the streak.
Aug. 19 12:40 PM PT1:40 PM MT2:40 PM CT3:40 PM ET15:40 ET19:40 GMT3:40 12:40 PM MST2:40 PM EST3:10 PM VEN23:40 UAE2:40 PM CT-Encarnacion extended his MLB-best hit streak to 15 games with a solo homer in an 8-5 win against Philadelphia on Tuesday.
Analysis: Encarnacion is batting .389 with seven doubles and three homers during his streak.
Aug. 9 10:09 AM PT11:09 AM MT12:09 PM CT1:09 PM ET13:09 ET17:09 GMT1:09 10:09 AM MST12:09 PM EST12:39 PM VEN21:09 UAE12:09 PM CT-Encarnacion is out of the lineup against the New York Yankees because of a tender finger on his left hand.
Analysis: Encarnacion's middle finger has been bothering him for a while, and he aggravated it on a swing Saturday. The first baseman and designated hitter was rested Sunday as second-place Toronto tried for a three-game sweep of the AL East leaders. Blue Jays manager John Gibbons hopes Encarnacion will feel better after the team's off day Monday.
July 29 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Encarnacion has been scratched from the Blue Jays' game Wednesday night against Philadelphia because of a sore left middle finger.
Analysis: Encarnacion, who is batting .238 with 19 homers and 56 RBIs, was injured Tuesday night in a 3-2 loss to the Phillies. He underwent precautionary X-rays, which were negative, but still felt pain while taking batting practice Wednesday. Chris Colabello will replace Encarnacion and bat fourth.
June 27 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Encarnacion was 3 for 5 with two homers Friday against the Rangers.
Analysis: Encarnacion, who has three multihomer games, has 16 homers this season.
June 20 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Encarnacion was 2 for 3 with two RBIs on Friday.
Analysis: Encarnacion faces a favorable matchup Saturday against Kevin Gausman so use him and reap some rewards.
June 17 11:40 AM PT12:40 PM MT1:40 PM CT2:40 PM ET14:40 ET18:40 GMT2:40 11:40 AM MST1:40 PM EST2:10 PM VEN22:40 UAE1:40 PM CT-Encarnacion had two hits and drove in a run in a 3-2 loss to the New York Mets on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Encarnacion, now batting .239, is 12 for 32 (.375) in a nine-game hit streak.
June 14 9:53 AM PT10:53 AM MT11:53 AM CT12:53 PM ET12:53 ET16:53 GMT0:53 9:53 AM MST11:53 AM EST12:23 PM VEN20:53 UAE11:53 AM CT-Encarnacion was 2 for 5 on Saturday.
Analysis: Encarnacion has eight hits in his last 21 at-bats.
June 11 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Encarnacion was 2 for 3 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 5 for 12 with one dinger in his last four games.
June 10 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Encarnacion hit his 13th home run Tuesday against the Marlins.
Analysis: Encarnacion's .221 batting average is the lowest of his career.
May 25 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Encarnacion hit his third homer in four days and 12th of the season Sunday against the Mariners.
Analysis: Encarnacion has eight home runs and 17 RBIs over his last 16 contests.
May 22 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Encarnacion hit a three-run homer in Thursday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: Encarnacion has gone deep six times in 13 games after hitting four in his first 30.
May 17 6:26 PM PT7:26 PM MT8:26 PM CT9:26 PM ET21:26 ET1:26 GMT9:26 6:26 PM MST8:26 PM EST8:56 PM VEN5:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Encarnacion hit a pinch-hit home run Saturday.
Analysis: The Blue Jays' slugger now has five homers in his last eight games.
May 13 11:50 AM PT12:50 PM MT1:50 PM CT2:50 PM ET14:50 ET18:50 GMT2:50 11:50 AM MST1:50 PM EST2:20 PM VEN22:50 UAE1:50 PM CT-Encarnacion homered twice in Tuesday's win in Baltimore.
Analysis: It's been a nice five games for Encarnacion, going 7 for 16 with three home runs and seven RBIs.
May 10 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Encarnacion went 2 for 3 with his fifth home run - a three-run shot - in Saturday's 7-1 win over Boston.
Analysis: Encarnacion has gone 4 for 6 with a homer, double and four RBIs in the first two games of this series.
Apr. 22 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Encarnacion hit two home runs Tuesday against Baltimore.
Analysis: Encarnacion, who now has four bombs this season, had been held without a homer in 10 games.
Apr. 10 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Encarnacion capped a strong series Thursday.
Analysis: Encarnacion went 2 for 4 with a homer and was 5 for 12 with two jacks in the series.
Apr. 9 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Encarnacion had two hits Wednesday.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 3 for 8 so far.
Apr. 7 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Encarnacion hit a two-run jack Monday.
Analysis: Encarnacion is hitting .344 with four homers against the Yankees since the start of last year so use him Wednesday night.
Mar. 10 8:34 AM PT9:34 AM MT10:34 AM CT11:34 AM ET11:34 ET15:34 GMT23:34 8:34 AM MST10:34 AM EST11:04 AM VEN19:34 UAE9:34 AM CT-Encarnacion likely will be sidelined for four to five days because of back inflammation. The two-time All-Star said he felt a little tightness after Sunday's game against Pittsburgh and had a precautionary MRI on Monday night. ''We're checking it today to see what I have,'' Encarnacion said Tuesday. ''It's something I want to make sure it's right. ... I want to do that before I continue my work.''
Analysis: Manager John Gibbons expects the first baseman-designated hitter to return to the lineup in about a week. ''It's just irritation, you know, a lot of swings early in camp,'' Gibbons said. ''There's no damage in there.'' Encarnacion hit .268 with 34 homers and 98 RBIs in 128 games last season, hindered by a right quadriceps injury throughout the second half. He is hitless in six plate appearances in spring training.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
2005 Cin 69 211 25 49 16 0 9 31 20 60 3 0 .232 .308 .436
2006 Cin 117 406 60 112 33 1 15 72 41 78 6 3 .276 .359 .473
2007 Cin 139 502 66 145 25 1 16 76 39 86 8 1 .289 .356 .438
2008 Cin 146 506 75 127 29 1 26 68 61 102 1 0 .251 .340 .466
2009 Cin 43 139 10 29 6 1 5 16 24 38 1 1 .209 .333 .374
2009 Tor 42 154 25 37 5 1 8 23 13 29 1 0 .240 .306 .442
2009 Tot 85 293 35 66 11 2 13 39 37 67 2 1 .225 .320 .410
2010 Tor 96 332 47 81 16 0 21 51 29 60 1 0 .244 .305 .482
2011 Tor 134 481 70 131 36 0 17 55 43 77 8 2 .272 .334 .453
2012 Tor 151 542 93 152 24 0 42 110 84 94 13 3 .280 .384 .557
2013 Tor 142 530 90 144 29 1 36 104 82 62 7 1 .272 .370 .534
2014 Tor 128 477 75 128 27 2 34 98 62 82 2 0 .268 .354 .547
2015 Tor 146 528 94 146 31 0 39 111 77 98 3 2 .277 .372 .557
Career 1353 4808 730 1281 277 8 268 815 575 866 54 13 .266 .351 .495


Hitting Statistics
2015 Tor Total 11 40 5 11 2 0 1 5 7 8 0 0 .275 .383 .400
    LDS 5 18 3 6 1 0 1 3 5 1 0 0 .333 .478 .556
    LCS 6 22 2 5 1 0 0 2 2 7 0 0 .227 .292 .273
Career 11 40 5 11 2 0 1 5 7 8 0 0 .275 .383 .400

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.