MLB Baseball
All Sports | Playoffs | Scoreboard | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#29
Jorge De La Rosa
ERA W-L K
4.10 14-11 139
Team: ColoradoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 215 NFBC ADP: 374.12
Position: SPBorn: 4/5/1981 Birthplace: Monterrey, Mexico
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Diamondbacks (1998)


Latest News
Sep. 18 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-De La Rosa pitched six scoreless innings in Wednesday's 16-2 victory over the Los Angeles Dodgers, his first in five starts.
Analysis: De La Rosa (14-11, 4.14 ERA) yielded two hits and two walks in his first victory since Aug. 20. He was 0-3 with a 4.76 ERA in his previous four starts and received eight runs of support.
Sep. 4 12:29 PM PT1:29 PM MT2:29 PM CT3:29 PM ET15:29 ET19:29 GMT3:29 12:29 PM MST2:29 PM EST2:59 PM VEN23:29 UAE2:29 PM CT-De La Rosa and the Colorado Rockies have agreed to a $25 million, two-year contract through 2016. The announcement was made by the Rockies on their Twitter account late Wednesday night.
Analysis: De La Rosa, who has an $11 million salary this year, gets $12.5 million in each of the next two seasons. The 33-year-old has been a dependable arm in a rotation hampered by injuries. He's 13-10 with a 4.26 ERA as the Rockies try to avoid the team's first 100-loss season.
Aug. 27 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-De La Rosa returned Sunday for the Rockies.
Analysis: De La Rosa had a left thumb contusion.
July 24 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-De La Rosa turned in another fine start Wednesday, giving up an earned run in 7 1-3 innings of a 6-4 win over Washington.
Analysis: De La Rosa is 5-0 in his last six starts and owns a 1.78 ERA over the last four.
July 19 11:22 AM PT12:22 PM MT1:22 PM CT2:22 PM ET14:22 ET18:22 GMT2:22 11:22 AM MST1:22 PM EST1:52 PM VEN22:22 UAE1:22 PM CT-De La Rosa failed Friday in a bid for his fifth consecutive victory.
Analysis: De La Rosa allowed one run over six innings and will try again next week against the Nats.
July 12 11:57 AM PT12:57 PM MT1:57 PM CT2:57 PM ET14:57 ET18:57 GMT2:57 11:57 AM MST1:57 PM EST2:27 PM VEN22:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-De La Rosa threw six innings of one-run ball to beat Minnesota 6-2 on Friday.
Analysis: De La Rosa is 10-6 with a 4.56 ERA after winning each of his last four starts.
July 6 5:49 PM PT6:49 PM MT7:49 PM CT8:49 PM ET20:49 ET0:49 GMT8:49 5:49 PM MST7:49 PM EST8:19 PM VEN4:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-De La Rosa allowed two runs over six innings to beat the Dodgers 8-7 on Saturday.
Analysis: De La Rosa has won three straight starts despite a shaky 4.74 ERA.
June 30 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-De La Rosa improved to 8-6 on Sunday for the Rockies.
Analysis: De La Rosa got the win despite allowing three wild pitches and hitting one batter. He allowed four runs in six innings.
May 17 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-De La Rosa won a fifth straight start Friday, allowing one hit in seven scoreless innings.
Analysis: The 5-0 stretch has featured a 2.03 ERA and .194 opponent batting average.
May 8 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-De La Rosa recorded a win for the fourth straight start Wednesday at Texas.
Analysis: De La Rosa was solid yet again, yielding just two runs and three hits over six innings. He owns a 2.63 ERA over his four straight victories after starting the season 0-3 with a 7.58 ERA in his first four outings.
Apr. 28 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-De La Rosa pitched seven strong innings, leading the Colorado Rockies over the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: De La Rosa (2-3, 5.23 ERA) allowed one run for a second straight game and four hits. He was 0-3 with a 7.58 ERA in his first four starts this season. The left-hander has beaten the Dodgers in three straight starts after going 0-8 with a 7.32 ERA in his 10 previous career starts against them.
Apr. 22 9:39 AM PT10:39 AM MT11:39 AM CT12:39 PM ET12:39 ET16:39 GMT0:39 9:39 AM MST11:39 AM EST12:09 PM VEN20:39 UAE11:39 AM CT-De La Rosa threw five efficient innings to earn his first win this season and lift the Colorado Rockies to an 8-2 victory over the San Francisco Giants on Monday night.
Analysis: De La Rosa (1-3) rediscovered his rhythm, allowing five hits and one run after posting a 7.58 ERA in his first four games. The hard-throwing lefty tied a career high with 16 wins last season.
Apr. 12 11:11 AM PT12:11 PM MT1:11 PM CT2:11 PM ET14:11 ET18:11 GMT2:11 11:11 AM MST1:11 PM EST1:41 PM VEN22:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-De La Rosa's struggles continued in Colorado's 6-5 loss to San Francisco on Friday.
Analysis: De La Rosa (0-2, 9.69 ERA) failed to make it out of the fifth inning for the third consecutive start while giving up a season-high six runs.
Apr. 1 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-De La Rosa was pounded in Monday's 10-1 beatdown by Miami.
Analysis: De La Rosa allowed five runs in 4 1-3 innings in his first opening day start. Fantasy owners should stick with him since he is better than this.
Mar. 12 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-The Colorado Rockies announced on Wednesday that left-hander Jorge De La Rosa will be the team's opening-day starter. He will face the Marlins in Miami on March 31. It's the first opening-day assignment for the 32-year-old De La Rosa, who went a career-best 16-6 with a 3.49 ERA last season.
Analysis: De La Rosa, who is entering the final year of a four-year contract, has pitched well this spring. He allowed two hits in three scoreless innings in his last spring training start on Tuesday.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2004 Mil 0 3 0 - 0 5 5 0 22.2 29 20 16 1 14 0 5 1.90 6.35
2005 Mil 2 2 0 - 2 38 0 0 42.1 48 23 21 1 38 4 42 2.03 4.46
2006 Mil 2 2 0 - 0 18 3 0 30.1 32 30 29 4 22 1 31 1.78 8.60
2006 KC 3 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 48.2 49 29 28 10 32 0 36 1.66 5.18
2006 Tot 5 6 0 - 0 28 13 0 79.0 81 59 57 14 54 1 67 1.71 6.49
2007 KC 8 12 0 - 0 26 23 0 130.0 160 88 84 20 53 6 82 1.64 5.82
2008 Col 10 8 0 - 0 28 23 0 130.0 128 77 71 13 62 3 128 1.46 4.92
2009 Col 16 9 0 - 0 33 32 0 185.0 172 95 90 20 83 3 193 1.38 4.38
2010 Col 8 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 121.2 105 62 57 15 55 4 113 1.32 4.22
2011 Col 5 2 0 - 0 10 10 1 59.0 48 25 23 4 22 0 52 1.19 3.51
2012 Col 0 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 10.2 17 14 11 5 2 0 6 1.78 9.28
2013 Col 16 6 0 - 0 30 30 0 167.2 170 70 65 11 62 5 112 1.38 3.49
2014 Col 14 11 0 - 0 32 32 0 184.1 161 90 84 21 67 2 139 1.24 4.10
Career 84 68 0 - 2 253 191 1 1132.1 1119 623 579 125 512 28 939 1.44 4.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2004 Mil 5 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2006 Mil 18 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2006 Tot 28 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 KC 26 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Col 28 40 2 6 0 0 0 6 0 14 0 0 .150 .146 .150
2009 Col 33 57 3 7 2 0 0 3 1 30 0 0 .123 .138 .158
2010 Col 20 41 3 7 2 0 0 4 0 15 0 0 .171 .171 .220
2011 Col 10 21 1 5 0 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .238 .238 .238
2012 Col 3 5 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .400 .400 .400
2013 Col 30 52 2 2 0 0 0 0 2 21 0 0 .038 .074 .038
2014 Col 32 60 5 9 0 0 0 1 1 26 0 0 .150 .164 .150
Career 253 292 16 38 4 0 0 18 4 128 0 0 .130 .141 .144

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1242 96 86 92.2 40.57
Curveball 114 79 70 74.1 3.72
Split-Finger 812 93 79 83 26.53
Cut Fastball 893 92 82 87.1 29.17

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.