MLB Baseball

#36
Billy Butler
AVG HR RBI
.285 5 35
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-0 / 260 NFBC ADP: 451.49
Position: DHBorn: 4/18/1986 Birthplace: Orange Park, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Royals (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 20 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Butler doubled twice Tuesday.
Analysis: He's 6 for 14 with a homer and four RBIs in five games since signing with the Yankees.
Sep. 16 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Butler hit a pinch-hit two-run homer Friday to improve to 2 for 4 with four RBIs in his first two games with the Yankees.
Analysis: Signed by New York on Wednesday following his recent release by the A's, Butler is expected to get at-bats as the DH against left-handers. The Yankees face David Price on Saturday, and Butler is 3 for 13 in his career against the lefty.
Sep. 15 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE12:09 AM CT-Making his Yankees debut, Butler went 1 for 3 and knocked in a pair of runs in Thursday's loss at Boston.
Analysis: Signed by New York on Wednesday following his recent release by the A's, Butler should log regular at-bats as a DH against left-handed pitching. He's just 2 for 18 overall at the plate over his last nine games, however.
Sep. 11 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-The Oakland Athletics released designated hitter Billy Butler on Sunday with one year left on his contract.
Analysis: The Oakland Athletics released designated hitter Billy Butler on Sunday with one year left on his contract.
Aug. 22 5:40 PM PT6:40 PM MT7:40 PM CT8:40 PM ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 PM MST7:40 PM EST8:10 PM VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Butler was activated off the 7-day concussion list Monday, one week after he suffered the injury in a clubhouse altercation with teammate Danny Valencia.
Analysis: Butler is hitting .286 with four homers and 30 RBIs in 79 games this season.
Aug. 21 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET1:44 GMT9:44 6:44 PM MST8:44 PM EST9:14 PM VEN5:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Butler, who sat out the team's Saturday and Sunday games against the White Sox, was reportedly sidelined with an injury he sustained in an altercation with teammate Danny Valencia. According to the newspaper, no one with the team would confirm or deny the report. Valencia told the Chronicle after Sunday's 4-2 loss to the White Sox, "No comment. What happens in the clubhouse stays in the clubhouse."
Analysis: Manager Bob Melvin said Butler was out because of nausea and vomiting, adding that the player did not have the flu. In 79 games this season, Butler is hitting .286 with four homers and 30 RBIs.
Aug. 14 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Butler doubled twice and finished 3 for 4 with two runs scored in Saturday's loss to Seattle.
Analysis: Though he hasn't been playing every day, Butler is 18 for 38 (.474) over his last 11 games to raise his season average to .293. The veteran DH is hitting just .259 at home, though, compared to a .337 mark on the road.
Aug. 4 7:31 AM PT8:31 AM MT9:31 AM CT10:31 AM ET10:31 ET14:31 GMT22:31 7:31 AM MST9:31 AM EST10:01 AM VEN18:31 UAE9:31 AM CT-Butler's recent tear continued Wednesday as he went 2 for 4.
Analysis: He's gone 10 for 18 with two homers, a double and five RBIs in his last five games.
July 29 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Butler had two hits with a RBI on Friday.
Analysis: Though this has been a rough season for the veteran slugger, Butler is 7 for 11 with four RBIs in his last three games.
July 26 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Butler's bat was alive again in Monday's loss at Texas, where he went 3 for 4 with an RBI double.
Analysis: Butler is starting to salvage his disappointing season by hitting .367 with a 1.008 OPS over his last 10 games. He finished 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs against Tampa Bay the previous day.
July 25 8:34 AM PT9:34 AM MT10:34 AM CT11:34 AM ET11:34 ET15:34 GMT23:34 8:34 AM MST10:34 AM EST11:04 AM VEN19:34 UAE10:34 AM CT-Butler hit a tiebreaking solo homer in the eighth inning Sunday as part of his two-hit game.
Analysis: He's 4 for 12 with three runs scored over his last four games.
June 20 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Butler stayed hot by going 2 for 3 in Sunday's loss to the Angels.
Analysis: Butler is 8 for 16 over a five-game stretch that's raised his average from .228 to .269, though he still isn't contributing much in the power and run-producing categories.
June 13 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE12:21 PM CT-Butler matched a season high with three hits - including a double - in Sunday's 6-1 win at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Butler had been 1 for 11 over his previous six games. He's been limited to part-time duty, hitting just .253 with two home runs and 16 RBIs on the season.
June 7 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Zach Davies took a no-hitter into the seventh before allowing a two-out home run to Butler on Tuesday.
Analysis: Though no longer any everyday staple, Butler is 4 for 10 with five RBIs in his last five games.
May 11 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Butler ended an extended slump by going 3 for 5 and driving in a run in a 13-5 loss to Boston on Tuesday.
Analysis: Butler, now batting .229, was 5 for 33 (.152) in his previous 15 games.
Feb. 20 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Butler means business after a disappointing first season with the A's during which the veteran designated hitter batted .251 with 15 home runs and 65 RBIs.
Analysis: The 29-year-old Butler is confident his intense regimen all winter in Arizona will only benefit him early in spring after he was limited last year at this time because of wrist injuries that didn't allow him to swing a bat right away.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 KC 92 329 38 96 23 2 8 52 27 55 0 0 .292 .347 .447
2008 KC 124 443 44 122 22 0 11 55 33 57 0 1 .275 .324 .400
2009 KC 159 608 78 183 51 1 21 93 58 103 1 0 .301 .362 .492
2010 KC 158 595 77 189 45 0 15 78 69 78 0 0 .318 .388 .469
2011 KC 159 597 74 174 44 0 19 95 66 95 2 1 .291 .361 .461
2012 KC 161 614 72 192 32 1 29 107 54 111 2 1 .313 .373 .510
2013 KC 162 582 62 168 27 0 15 82 79 102 0 0 .289 .374 .412
2014 KC 151 549 57 149 32 0 9 66 41 96 0 0 .271 .323 .379
2015 Oak 151 538 63 135 28 1 15 65 52 101 0 0 .251 .323 .390
2016 Oak 85 221 24 61 16 0 4 31 19 34 0 0 .276 .331 .403
2016 NYY 10 25 2 9 2 0 1 4 2 7 0 0 .360 .393 .560
2016 Tot 95 246 26 70 18 0 5 35 21 41 0 0 .285 .337 .419
Career 1412 5101 591 1478 322 5 147 728 500 839 5 3 .290 .354 .441

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 KC Total 13 42 3 11 3 0 0 8 5 5 1 0 .262 .327 .333
    WC 1 4 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
    LDS 3 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 1 1 0 .000 .250 .000
    LCS 4 14 1 4 2 0 0 3 1 2 0 0 .286 .294 .429
    WS 5 15 1 5 1 0 0 3 1 1 0 0 .333 .375 .400
Career 13 42 3 11 3 0 0 8 5 5 1 0 .262 .327 .333


w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.