MLB Baseball

Andrew McCutchen
.256 24 79
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 5-10 / 190 NFBC ADP: 14.18
Position: CFBorn: 10/10/1986 Birthplace: Fort Meade, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2005)

Latest News
Sep. 27 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-McCutchen hit a two-run single Tuesday.
Analysis: He's batting .375 with four homers and 15 RBIs in his last 14 games.
Sep. 23 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-McCutchen singled and doubled in Thursday's loss to Milwaukee to extend his hitting streak to 10 games. He is batting .395 with four homers, four doubles and 13 RBIs during his run.
Analysis: McCutchen has hit safely in 11 straight games against the Brewers and is batting .404 (19 for 47) with five runs, four doubles, three times, eight RBIs and three walks in that span.
Sep. 22 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-McCutchen went 2 for 4 with a homer and the Pirates beat the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Perhaps the rumors of Cutch's demise are a bit premature. He's hitting .298 with an .897 OPS over his last 36 games.
Sep. 21 9:25 AM PT10:25 AM MT11:25 AM CT12:25 PM ET12:25 ET16:25 GMT0:25 9:25 AM MST11:25 AM EST11:55 AM VEN20:25 UAE11:25 AM CT-McCutchen's two-run double in the first inning of Tuesday's win at Milwaukee extended his hitting streak to eight games and gave him 48 RBIs in 62 career games at Miller Park.
Analysis: McCutchen is batting .371 with three homers and 12 RBIs during the hitting streak.
Sep. 18 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-McCutchen doubled Sunday, extending his hitting streak to six games.
Analysis: The Pirates are in Milwaukee on Tuesday, and McCutchen is batting .400 with four extra-base hits in his last seven games against the Brewers. However, he is 5 for 21 lifetime against Matt Garza, the scheduled starter for the opener.
Sep. 17 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-McCutchen knocked in five runs in the Pirates' doubleheader sweep of Cincinnati on Saturday, collecting three in a 10-4 rout in the opener and adding a two-run single in the nightcap.
Analysis: The 2013 NL MVP is doing his best to finish a disappointing season on a strong note. McCutchen has racked up 10 RBIs and three homers over a five-game stretch in which he's 9 for 22 with seven runs scored.
Sep. 16 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-McCutchen followed Thursday's two-homer game by going 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI on Friday.
Analysis: He's 7 for 13 with three home runs and five RBIs over the last three games.
Sep. 16 9:46 AM PT10:46 AM MT11:46 AM CT12:46 PM ET12:46 ET16:46 GMT0:46 9:46 AM MST11:46 AM EST12:16 PM VEN20:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-McCutchen hit two solo homers, Chad Kuhl pitched six effective innings and the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Philadelphia Phillies 15-2 Thursday night.
Analysis: McCutchen has 174 career homers with the Pirates. He trails Barry Bonds by two for fourth place on Pittsburgh's all-time home run list.
Sep. 12 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-McCutchen was 0 for 3 in Monday's 6-2 loss to the Phillies.
Analysis: McCutchen is now hitless in nine at-bats though he does have six walks in his last four games.
Sep. 3 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-McCutchen hit his 19th homer in Saturday's 7-4 loss to Milwaukee.
Analysis: McCutchen is batting .423 with two homers, two doubles and five RBIs in six games against the Brewers over the last two weeks but is 3 for 13 lifetime against Chase Anderson, Milwaukee's scheduled starter for Sunday.
Sep. 2 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-McCutchen went 3 for 4 with a double Friday to raise his season average to .253, the highest it's been since June 7.
Analysis: He's batting .324 with 10 RBIs in his last 17 games.
Aug. 26 9:11 AM PT10:11 AM MT11:11 AM CT12:11 PM ET12:11 ET16:11 GMT0:11 9:11 AM MST11:11 AM EST11:41 AM VEN20:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-McCutchen drove in all three Pirates runs in Thursday's victory at Milwaukee, homering in his first at-bat and later delivering a pair of RBI singles - the last coming in the 10th inning.
Analysis: Though his season has been a disappointment considering his usual standards, McCutchen has turned it up lately by batting .333 with three homers and 11 RBIs over his past 13 games. His surge is very good news for a Pittsburgh team in a fight to return to the playoffs.
Aug. 24 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-McCutchen had a pinch-hit single Wednesday.
Analysis: He's batting .302 with two homers, a double, a triple and eight RBIs in his last 12 games.
Aug. 18 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-McCutchen's sudden surge continued Wednesday, going 2 for 4 with a two-run homer that capped the Pirates' six-run rally in the fifth inning of a 6-5 win over the Giants.
Analysis: McCutchen hit .391 with five walks, two homers and seven RBIs on the Pirates' six-game road trip. He began it in a 5-for-30 slump which included no extra-base hits.
Aug. 17 10:33 PM PT11:33 PM MT12:33 AM CT1:33 AM ET1:33 ET5:33 GMT13:33 10:33 PM MST12:33 AM EST1:03 AM VEN9:33 UAE12:33 AM CT-McCutchen appears to be back on track after going 2 for 3 with a triple in Tuesday's 4-3 win over the Giants.
Analysis: McCutchen has gone 7 for 19 with five RBIs over his last five games after enduring one of the worst slumps of his illustrious career. He's only hitting .246 on the season.
Aug. 16 10:51 AM PT11:51 AM MT12:51 PM CT1:51 PM ET13:51 ET17:51 GMT1:51 10:51 AM MST12:51 PM EST1:21 PM VEN21:51 UAE12:51 PM CT-McCutchen had two hits and two RBIs in Monday's win in San Francisco.
Analysis: The former MVP could be making a late run at turning around a very disappointing year. Through four games of Pittsburgh's West Coast trip, he has five RBIs while posting a .450 OBP. His season OBP of .324 would still be a career low.
Aug. 13 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-McCutchen went 2 for 4 with a homer in the Pirates' 5-1 win over the Dodgers on Friday.
Analysis: McCutchen was 5 for 30 over his last nine games before Friday, when the Pirates pulled to within one game of the Marlins for the NL's second wild card. With more games like this, they might reel in the fish.
Aug. 7 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-McCutchen went 1 for 4 on Sunday.
Analysis: The struggling star was 2 for 9 in the three-game set against the Reds after being benched for the Pirates' previous series.
Aug. 5 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-McCutchen went 0 for 2 with two walks Friday after being benched for the entire three-game series against Atlanta.
Analysis: He's gone 1 for 14 in his last four games to drop his season average to .240.
Aug. 4 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-McCutchen is being benched for the entire three-game series against Atlanta, according to Pirates manager Clint Hurdle.
Analysis: The 2013 NL MVP missed Tuesday's win and Wednesday's loss and will be out of the lineup again Thursday due to a season-long slump. "I know if I was going out and playing the best ball that I know I can play that I wouldn't be in this position," McCutchen conceded. He went 1 for 12 in a three-game series at Milwaukee last weekend, dropping his average to .241, which would be his lowest in any season. Hurdle said "it's like hitting the refresh button."
July 28 8:08 AM PT9:08 AM MT10:08 AM CT11:08 AM ET11:08 ET15:08 GMT23:08 8:08 AM MST10:08 AM EST10:38 AM VEN19:08 UAE10:08 AM CT-McCutchen went 3 for 5 with a homer, double and four RBIs on Wednesday.
Analysis: The performance could spark a turnaround for McCutchen, who is batting just .246 on the season and entered Wednesday in a 4-for-29 funk.
July 26 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-McCutchen went 0 for 4 with a run scored in Tuesday's loss to Seattle.
Analysis: Since knocking in six runs during a three-game span earlier this month, McCutchen is 7 for 37 (.189) with no RBIs in his last nine contests.
July 10 6:00 PM PT7:00 PM MT8:00 PM CT9:00 PM ET21:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 6:00 PM MST8:00 PM EST8:30 PM VEN5:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-McCutchen hit his 14th homer in Sunday's 6-5 loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: McCutchen went 6 for 12 with two home runs and six RBIs in the series with the Cubs to head into the All-Star break with a .247 average after hitting .295 at the midpoint of the 2015 season. The Pirates come out of the break with a series against Washington, and McCutchen is 1 for 17 with nine strikeouts in his last five games at Nationals Park.
July 9 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-McCutchen homered for one of his two hits and had three RBIs in Saturday's rout of the Cubs.
Analysis: He is 5 for 9 with four RBIs in the first two games of this set.
July 8 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-McCutchen had three hits, including an RBI single during a decisive four-run seventh inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates rallied for a rare victory over the Chicago Cubs and Jake Arrieta, 8-4 on Friday night.
Analysis: He is 8 for 19 with five RBIs in the last five home games.
June 27 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-McCutchen singled and doubled in Monday's 5-4 loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: McCutchen now has two multihit games in his last three after having just one in his previous 16 contests. On Tuesday, he'll get his first look at Seattle's Hisashi Iwakuma.
June 26 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-McCutchen homered twice and drove in four as the Pirates beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-1 Saturday night.
Analysis: It was McCutchen's 11th career multi-homer game - second this year. The nine-year veteran's batting average had dropped to .239 - 55 points below his career average - after going 9 for 49 (.184) with 16 strikeouts in his previous 13 games.
June 17 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-McCutchen went 3 for 4 with a homer and a double in Thursday's 6-4 loss to the Mets.
Analysis: McCutchen had been in an 0-for-18 drought which was the longest hitless stretch of his career. He also ended a 17-game homerless drought.
June 2 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen and catcher Francisco Cervelli both left Thursday night's game against the Miami Marlins due to injuries.
Analysis: McCutchen left in the sixth inning with right thumb discomfort and was being evaluated by the medical staff. He lined out in the top of the sixth and was replaced by Sean Rodriguez for the bottom of the inning.
May 19 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-McCutchen was 0 for 4 on Wednesday.
Analysis: McCutchen has been a major bust with his OPS at .808. If it gets below .750, you may want to look elsewhere - like maybe to the major league-leading and World Series favorites Cubs for some fantasy help.
May 18 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-McCutchen had three hits with a triple on Tuesday.
Analysis: McCutchen is a bit off his game with a .828 OPS.
May 14 8:41 AM PT9:41 AM MT10:41 AM CT11:41 AM ET11:41 ET15:41 GMT23:41 8:41 AM MST10:41 AM EST11:11 AM VEN19:41 UAE10:41 AM CT-McCutchen was 3 for 5 with a two-run jack Friday.
Analysis: McCutchen is 12 for 30 in a seven-game hit streak.
Apr. 26 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-McCutchen hit three homers and drove in five runs in a 9-4 victory in Colorado on Tuesday night.
Analysis: The Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder was batting .172 with two home runs and three doubles in his previous 16 games. It's the second time McCutchen has hit three homers in a game. The other time he accomplished the feat was Aug. 1, 2009, against Washington.
Apr. 14 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-McCutchen hit a double on Wednesday but he struck out in each of his other three at-bats.
Analysis: He has struck out five times while going 1 for 8 the last two games.
Apr. 7 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-McCutchen had another nice game Wednesday with two more hits in a 5-1 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: After going 0 for 2 in the opener, McCutchen is 5 for 9 in the past two games.
Apr. 6 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-McCutchen broke out with three hits, including a double, in Tuesday's 6-5, 11-inning win over St. Louis.
Analysis: McCutchen had gone 0 for 2 in the opener, though he was hit by a pitch and walked in that victory.
Feb. 22 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-McCutchen says he wants to finish his career in Pittsburgh.
Analysis: McCutchen has two years left on his current deal, with a club option for 2018. He says he hasn't thought much about what will happen when his contract is up and is more focused on getting the Pirates back to the postseason for a fourth straight year.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
2009 Pit 108 433 74 124 26 9 12 54 54 83 22 5 .286 .365 .471
2010 Pit 154 570 94 163 35 5 16 56 70 89 33 10 .286 .365 .449
2011 Pit 158 572 87 148 34 5 23 89 89 126 23 10 .259 .364 .456
2012 Pit 157 593 107 194 29 6 31 96 70 132 20 12 .327 .400 .553
2013 Pit 157 583 97 185 38 5 21 84 78 101 27 10 .317 .404 .508
2014 Pit 146 548 89 172 38 6 25 83 84 115 18 3 .314 .410 .542
2015 Pit 157 566 91 165 36 3 23 96 98 133 11 5 .292 .401 .488
2016 Pit 153 598 81 153 26 3 24 79 69 143 6 7 .256 .336 .430
Career 1190 4463 720 1304 262 42 175 637 612 922 160 62 .292 .381 .487


Hitting Statistics
2013 Pit Total 6 21 3 7 1 0 0 0 5 3 0 0 .333 .462 .381
    WC 1 3 1 2 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 .667 .800 .667
    LDS 5 18 2 5 1 0 0 0 3 3 0 0 .278 .381 .333
2014 Pit Total 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .250 .000
    WC 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2015 Pit Total 1 4 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
    WC 1 4 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 8 28 3 9 1 0 0 0 6 4 0 0 .321 .441 .357

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.