Listen now:
NBC Sports: Click here for NBC Sports Radio live
MLB Baseball
All Sports | Scoreboard | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#30
Carlos Gomez
AVG HR RBI
.246 10 51
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 220 NFBC ADP: 7.31
Position: CFBorn: 12/4/1985 Birthplace: Santiago, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mets (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 20 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Gomez is back in the lineup for Thursday's game against Tampa Bay.
Analysis: He sat out Wednesday with flu-like symptoms. Gomez has struggled since coming over in a trade with Milwaukee on July 30, batting .197 with one home run, four RBIs and five steals in 17 games.
Aug. 5 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Gomez hit his first home run as an Astro on Tuesday, a sixth-inning solo shot in a 4-3 loss to Texas. He added an RBI double in the third.
Analysis: Gomez now has three multi-hit games since joining the Astros. He is batting .348 with four RBIs and two doubles in five games with Houston.
July 30 5:08 PM PT6:08 PM MT7:08 PM CT8:08 PM ET20:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)7:08 PM CT-The Astros have added another bat to their lineup as they make a push for the postseason by acquiring Gomez from the Milwaukee Brewers.
Analysis: The 29-year-old Gomez is hitting .262 with eight homers and 43 RBIs in 74 games for the Brewers this season. He is making $8 million this season and $9 million in 2016, then can become a free agent.
July 12 12:12 PM PT1:12 PM MT2:12 PM CT3:12 PM ET15:12 ET19:12 GMT3:12 12:12 PM MST2:12 PM EST2:42 PM VEN23:12 UAE2:12 PM CT-Gomez was 2 for 5 with five RBIs in Saturday's win at the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Analysis: Gomez is 10 for 25 with 15 RBIs in seven games, making him the first Brewers player ever with four-plus RBIs three times in a seven-game span and first in the majors since Alfonso Soriano in 2013.
July 9 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Gomez homered twice in Wednesday's win over Atlanta.
Analysis: Gomez is 7 for 17 with three homers and 10 RBIs in five games.
June 18 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Gomez was 2 for 4 with his 13th double Wednesday at Kansas City.
Analysis: Gomez is batting .321 over his last 12 games, though he's racked up 14 strikeouts in that span.
June 15 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Gomez has been scratched from the starting lineup for Monday night's game against Kansas City with right leg tightness. Gerardo Parra moved from left to center and replaced Gomez in the leadoff spot. Shane Peterson was put into the lineup in left.
Analysis: Gomez has had problems with the leg since spending two weeks on the disabled list in late April for a hamstring injury. He also missed a few games last week. Lately, Gomez appears to be bothered more by the upper part of the leg. He has said he has been playing with a wrap near his hip. Gomez is hitting .270 with five homers and 24 RBIs, plus six stolen bases. He got Milwaukee's only hit Sunday off Max Scherzer in a 4-0 loss to Washington.
June 7 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET17:42 GMT1:42 10:42 AM MST12:42 PM EST1:12 PM VEN21:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Gomez went 4 for 4 in a 4-2 win over his former Minnesota Twins on Saturday.
Analysis: Gomez had a two-run tiebreaking single in the seventh and an RBI double in the final inning. His 4-for-4 day pushed his hit streak to nine games, and he boosted his career average in 24 contests against the Twins to .369. He has 19 RBIs against the team he played for from 2008-09 before being traded to Milwaukee. Gomez is 15 for 42 (.357) in his hit streak.
June 2 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Gomez was 2 for 4 and drove in his 21st run Monday at St. Louis.
Analysis: Bothered by a hamstring strain earlier in the year, Gomez seemingly hasn't been himself. One piece of evidence is that he has stolen only five bases in 34 games, getting caught stealing four times. He was caught stealing only 12 times compared to 34 successful attempts last season.
May 18 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Gomez was penciled into the lineup against Detroit on Monday, a day after he was beaned by a 96 mph fastball from New York Mets rookie Noah Syndergaard.
Analysis: Gomez and Syndergaard exchanged gracious Twitter messages Monday.
May 17 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-Gomez was beaned by a 96 mph fastball from rookie Noah Syndergaard in the sixth inning Sunday and left the game.
Analysis: Gomez walked off on the field with the trainers at his side and was replaced by pinch runner Gerardo Parra.
Apr. 16 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE12:26 AM CT-The Brewers have activated Gomez from the 15-day disabled list on Saturday.
Analysis: Gomez was placed on the disabled list with a strained right hamstring and missed 15 games. In eight games, Gomez was 8 for 34 with one home run and six RBIs. Gomez will try to spark the Brewers' lineup. Entering Saturday, Milwaukee is hitting .224 as a team and is 11 1/2 games behind the St. Louis Cardinals in the NL Central.
Apr. 14 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Gomez went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI in Monday's 5-4 win at St. Louis.
Analysis: Gomez has gone 4 for 8 with a home run, two doubles and three RBIs over his last two games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 NYM 58 125 14 29 3 0 2 12 8 27 12 3 .232 .288 .304
2008 Min 153 577 79 149 24 7 7 59 25 142 33 11 .258 .296 .360
2009 Min 137 315 51 72 15 5 3 28 22 72 14 7 .229 .287 .337
2010 Mil 97 291 38 72 11 3 5 24 17 72 18 3 .247 .298 .357
2011 Mil 94 231 37 52 11 3 8 24 15 64 16 2 .225 .276 .403
2012 Mil 137 415 72 108 19 4 19 51 20 98 37 6 .260 .305 .463
2013 Mil 147 536 80 152 27 10 24 73 37 146 40 7 .284 .338 .506
2014 Mil 148 574 95 163 34 4 23 73 47 141 34 12 .284 .356 .477
2015 Mil 74 286 42 75 20 1 8 43 23 70 7 6 .262 .328 .423
2015 Hou 24 92 9 18 3 0 2 8 5 21 6 2 .196 .237 .293
2015 Tot 98 378 51 93 23 1 10 51 28 91 13 8 .246 .307 .392
Career 1069 3442 517 890 167 37 101 395 219 853 217 59 .259 .313 .417

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Min Total 1 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
    LDS 1 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
2011 Mil Total 8 14 3 5 0 0 1 2 0 2 2 1 .357 .400 .571
    LDS 3 4 2 3 0 0 1 2 0 0 2 0 .750 .750 1.500
    LCS 5 10 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 1 .200 .273 .200
Career 9 18 4 5 0 0 1 2 1 4 2 1 .278 .381 .444


w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.