MLB Baseball

#47
Gio González
ERA W-L K
4.57 11-11 171
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-0 / 207 NFBC ADP: 199.61
Position: SPBorn: 9/19/1985 Birthplace: Hialeah, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Supplemental Round by White Sox (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 29 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-In 3 2/3 innings Wednesday, Gonzalez allowed three runs and eight hits in a rain-shortened loss to Arizona.
Analysis: Projected to be Washington's No. 3 starter in the playoffs, Gonzalez needs to shape up after going 0-2 with an 8.31 ERA in his final three regular-season outings.
Sep. 17 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Gonzalez (11-10) lasted only 4 1/3 innings Saturday against the Braves and was charged with six runs on nine hits in a 7-3 loss. The veteran left-hander struck out seven, walked none and hit two batters.
Analysis: Gonzalez fell to 1-1 with an 8.16 ERA in three September starts.
Sep. 12 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Gonzalez shined Sunday, allowing just one run and four hits over seven innings in a 3-2 win over the Phillies.
Analysis: Gonzalez has given up three earned runs or less in six of his last eight starts. He's won his last five decisions and bounced back nicely after struggling his last time out against the Braves.
Sep. 7 7:05 AM PT8:05 AM MT9:05 AM CT10:05 AM ET10:05 ET14:05 GMT22:05 7:05 AM MST9:05 AM EST9:35 AM VEN18:05 UAE9:05 AM CT-Gonzalez came back to Earth on Tuesday, allowing six runs and eight hits in three innings in a 9-7 win over Atlanta.
Analysis: Gonzalez had been 6-1 with a 3.02 ERA over his previous 10 starts.
Aug. 27 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Gonzalez earned his 100th career victory Friday night against the Rockies. He threw six innings and allowed two runs and four hits with one walk and five strikeouts.
Analysis: The left-hander is 5-1 with a 3.20 ERA in his last nine starts.
Aug. 5 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Gonzalez pitched seven innings of two-hit ball as the Washington Nationals beat the San Francisco Giants 5-1 on Friday night in a matchup of first-place teams.
Analysis: In his last four starts, Gonzalez is 3-1 with a 2.03 ERA.
Aug. 1 9:28 AM PT10:28 AM MT11:28 AM CT12:28 PM ET12:28 ET16:28 GMT0:28 9:28 AM MST11:28 AM EST11:58 AM VEN20:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-Gonzalez pitched well again Sunday but took the loss against the Giants. The left-hander allowed one earned run over six innings.
Analysis: After posting a 7.66 ERA in his previous nine starts, Gonzalez has a 2.25 ERA in his last four outings.
July 26 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Gonzalez yielded three runs - two earned - and five hits in six innings at Cleveland on Tuesday and took a no-decision.
Analysis: The left-hander has a 3.00 ERA in four starts this month after posting an 8.10 ERA in his previous eight outings.
July 20 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Gonzalez allowed one run and three hits while striking out six over six innings in Wednesday's 8-1 win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: Gonzalez has gotten back on track in winning his last two starts. He had been 1-7 with a 7.66 ERA over his previous nine outings.
July 1 8:16 AM PT9:16 AM MT10:16 AM CT11:16 AM ET11:16 ET15:16 GMT23:16 8:16 AM MST10:16 AM EST10:46 AM VEN19:16 UAE10:16 AM CT-Gonzalez allowed four runs and four walks over six innings Thursday, but snapped a personal six-game losing streak in a 13-4 win over the Reds.
Analysis: Gonzalez has been 0-6 with an 8.44 ERA over his previous seven starts. He simply is not a fantasy option at this point.
June 25 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Gonzalez's dismal season got even worse Saturday as he allowed six runs over a season-low three innings in a 6-5 loss at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Gonzalez is 0-6 with an 8.44 ERA in his last seven starts, recording his last win on May 2.
June 20 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Gonzalez left after 5 1/3 innings and allowed with six runs (five earned), eight hits and four walks in the Nationals' 6-3 loss to the Padres on Sunday.
Analysis: He had three strikeouts and lost his fifth straight decision. ''It's very, very frustrating,'' Gonzalez said. ''All you can do is keep pushing forward. But I had pitches that I left up just enough where they got hits.''
June 10 12:26 PM PT1:26 PM MT2:26 PM CT3:26 PM ET15:26 ET19:26 GMT3:26 12:26 PM MST2:26 PM EST2:56 PM VEN23:26 UAE2:26 PM CT-Gonzalez allowed three runs and five hits while striking out 10 over seven innings in Thursday's 3-1 loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Gonzalez pitched much better, though he still has an 8.34 ERA while dropping each of his last four starts. At least he has 31 strikeouts over that span.
June 4 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Gonzalez's struggles continued Friday in a 7-2 loss to Cincinnati.
Analysis: Gonzalez (3-4, 3.94 ERA) gave up five runs in six innings in his third straight loss. He has a 10.34 ERA in those games.
May 29 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Gonzalez was tagged for six runs in 4 2/3 innings in Saturday's loss to St. Louis, his second consecutive poor start.
Analysis: Gonzalez has been lit up for 13 runs and served up four homers in 9 2/3 innings over his past two outings - both losses. He had posted a stellar 1.86 ERA and allowed just three homers over his first eight starts.
May 24 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Gonzalez had his worst performance of the season Monday in a 7-1 loss to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Gonzalez (3-2, 2.87 ERA) gave up seven runs and 10 hits in five innings. He had a 1.86 ERA in his first eight starts, including a 7-1 win over the Mets on May 18. Gonzalez had given up one earned run in 11 1/3 innings in his prior two games.
May 19 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Gonzalez earned his first win in three starts Wednesday with a 7-1 victory over the New York Mets.
Analysis: Gonzalez (3-1, 1.86 ERA) gave up one run in 6 1/3 innings and has allowed one earned run or fewer in six of his eight outings this season.
May 8 11:52 AM PT12:52 PM MT1:52 PM CT2:52 PM ET14:52 ET18:52 GMT2:52 11:52 AM MST1:52 PM EST2:22 PM VEN22:52 UAE1:52 PM CT-Gonzalez wilted against the powerful Chicago Cubs lineup but did not get a decision in an 8-5 loss Saturday.
Analysis: Gonzalez was charged with five runs and seven hits in 5 2/3 innings. He was 2-1 with a 1.15 ERA in his first five starts.
May 3 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Gonzalez was solid Monday.
Analysis: Gonzalez went just six innings, but he scattered four hits and a pair of walks in his latest smooth start. He's allowed only four earned runs combined in his first five outings.
Apr. 28 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Gonzalez took his first loss of the season Wednesday night with a 3-0 defeat to Philadelphia.
Analysis: Gonzalez (1-1, 1.42 ERA) gave up two runs - one earned - in 6 1/3 innings. He's gotten one run of support or fewer in three of his four starts.
Apr. 18 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Gonzalez threw seven strong innings on Sunday.
Analysis: He held the Phillies to one run and four hits while walking two and striking out eight.
Apr. 13 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Gonzalez limited the Braves to three hits in six scoreless innings of Tuesday's 2-1 win but was stuck with a no-decision.
Analysis: Gonzalez was seeing action for the first time since a March 27 spring training exhibition. Dusty Baker said about Gonzalez: "He was very sharp. You wouldn't know that he had missed two weeks."

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Oak 1 4 0 - 0 10 7 0 34.0 32 34 29 9 25 1 34 1.68 7.68
2009 Oak 6 7 0 - 0 20 17 0 98.2 113 68 63 14 56 2 109 1.71 5.75
2010 Oak 15 9 0 - 0 33 33 1 200.2 171 75 72 15 92 1 171 1.31 3.23
2011 Oak 16 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 202.0 175 81 70 17 91 1 197 1.32 3.12
2012 Was 21 8 0 - 0 32 32 2 199.1 149 69 64 9 76 3 207 1.13 2.89
2013 Was 11 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 195.2 169 79 73 17 76 1 192 1.25 3.36
2014 Was 10 10 0 - 0 27 27 0 158.2 134 66 63 10 56 0 162 1.20 3.57
2015 Was 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 175.2 181 79 74 8 69 3 169 1.42 3.79
2016 Was 11 11 0 - 0 32 32 0 177.1 179 98 90 19 59 2 171 1.34 4.57
Career 102 77 0 - 0 249 243 4 1442.0 1303 649 598 118 600 14 1412 1.32 3.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Oak 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Oak 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Was 32 64 2 6 1 0 1 4 1 25 0 0 .094 .106 .156
2013 Was 32 56 2 5 1 0 1 1 1 16 0 0 .089 .121 .161
2014 Was 27 46 3 4 1 0 1 2 0 26 0 0 .087 .087 .174
2015 Was 31 43 1 4 1 0 0 2 1 18 0 0 .093 .152 .116
2016 Was 32 52 1 7 2 0 0 2 0 24 0 0 .135 .148 .173
Career 249 268 9 26 6 0 3 11 3 113 0 0 .097 .119 .153

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 6 5 5 0 11 0 10 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 6 5 5 0 11 0 10 4.50
2014 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 2 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 2 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.0 10 7 5 0 12 0 11 3.21

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Was Total 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .250 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2014 Was Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .200 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 2009 94 85 90.8 64.64
Curveball 616 81 70 77.2 19.82
Changeup 483 87 79 83.7 15.54

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.