MLB Baseball

#25
Marco Estrada
ERA W-L K
3.02 6-4 108
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200 NFBC ADP: 274.16
Position: SPBorn: 7/5/1983 Birthplace: Sonora, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Nationals (2005)


Latest News
July 6 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Estrada has gone on the disabled list because of a sore lower back and will not play in the All-Star Game.
Analysis: Estrada, who left Saturday's start after five innings because of back pain, still intends to travel to San Diego and participate in All-Star festivities. The first-time All-Star was put on the DL, a move retroactive Sunday. Estrada, a 33-year-old right-hander, is 5-3 with a 2.93 ERA in 16 starts. Estrada first dealt with a sore back in spring training and aggravated the injury swinging a bat during an interleague start. He won't pitch again until July 22 vs. Seattle.
July 5 5:22 PM PT6:22 PM MT7:22 PM CT8:22 PM ET20:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Estrada was named an All-Star for the first time in his nine-year career Tuesday.
Analysis: Estrada is 5-3 with a 2.93 ERA in 16 starts and ranks second in the AL with a 0.99 WHIP, a shade behind Chicago's Chris Sale.
July 2 6:04 PM PT7:04 PM MT8:04 PM CT9:04 PM ET21:04 ET1:04 GMT9:04 6:04 PM MST8:04 PM EST8:34 PM VEN5:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Estrada received multiple cortisone injections in his sore lower back and expects to make his next start, Thursday against Detroit.
Analysis: Estrada allowed three runs and struck out seven before departing Saturday's start after five innings, ending his major league-record stretch of 12 consecutive starts of allowing five or less hits while pitching at least six innings.
June 22 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Estrada (back) is on track to make Monday's scheduled start against Colorado.
Analysis: Estrada exited Tuesday's 4-2 loss to Arizona after six innings and 88 pitches due to back tightness. The right-hander has held opposing hitters to a major league-low .164 average in 14 starts this season.
June 21 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Estrada held the Diamondbacks to three runs and two hits with eight strikeouts in six innings Tuesday but suffered a 4-2 loss.
Analysis: The right-hander became the first pitcher since at least 1893 to allow five or fewer hits over six or more innings in 11 consecutive starts.
June 16 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Estrada continued his run of dominance Wednesday, allowing four hits and two runs in 6 2/3 innings to beat the Phillies.
Analysis: The right-hander has recorded six consecutive quality starts - all Toronto victories - as he's gone 4-0 with a 2.27 ERA. Even more impressive during that span, opposing batters are hitting .135 against him. His .168 opponent batting average for the season is the lowest in the majors.
May 31 11:53 AM PT12:53 PM MT1:53 PM CT2:53 PM ET14:53 ET18:53 GMT2:53 11:53 AM MST1:53 PM EST2:23 PM VEN22:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Estrada won consecutive starts for the first time this season Monday.
Analysis: Estrada allowed three hits, two of them singles, and struck out six in eight scoreless innings against the punchless and pathetic Yanks.
May 26 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Estrada finally got some run support as he ended a seven-start winless stretch Wednesday against the Yankees.
Analysis: The right-hander allowed three runs over seven innings in the 8-4 win to nab his first victory since his April 10 season debut. Estrada owns a 2.76 ERA and has recorded six quality starts in nine appearances, but Toronto had scored two or less runs with him on the mound in each of his first eight outings.
May 20 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Estrada got a no-decision Thursday.
Analysis: Estrada fanned nine and allowed two runs in eight innings.
May 9 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Estrada tossed seven outstanding innings despite not receiving a decision Sunday against the Dodgers.
Analysis: The Toronto righty yielded a run on three hits and struck out eight before departing with a one-run lead the bullpen blew. Estrada is just 1-2 in six starts but sports a 2.39 ERA, with a lack of run support a big reason to that low win total.
Apr. 28 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Estrada gave up one hit through six innings but was knocked out in the seventh Wednesday night. Estrada allowed three runs and three hits in 6 2/3 innings and is winless in three starts.
Analysis: His next start is against Texas next week.
Apr. 11 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Estrada pitched a gem on Sunday, allowing five hits and striking out eight over seven innings in a 3-0 home win over the Red Sox.
Analysis: It was the first start of the season for Estrada, who went 13-8 with a 3.13 ERA in 34 games last season.
Apr. 3 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Estrada is coming off the 15-day disabled list to make his season debut against the Boston Red Sox.
Analysis: The Toronto Blue Jays right-hander has been dealing with a sore back during spring traning.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Was 0 0 0 - 1 11 0 0 12.2 17 13 11 4 5 1 10 1.74 7.82
2009 Was 0 1 0 - 0 4 1 0 7.1 6 6 5 1 4 0 9 1.36 6.14
2010 Mil 0 0 0 - 0 7 1 0 11.1 14 13 12 3 6 0 13 1.76 9.53
2011 Mil 4 8 0 - 3 43 7 0 92.2 83 45 42 11 29 2 88 1.21 4.08
2012 Mil 5 7 0 - 0 29 23 0 138.1 129 62 56 18 29 0 143 1.14 3.64
2013 Mil 7 4 0 - 0 21 21 0 128.0 109 56 55 19 29 0 118 1.08 3.87
2014 Mil 7 6 0 - 0 39 18 0 150.2 137 77 73 29 44 0 127 1.20 4.36
2015 Tor 13 8 0 - 0 34 28 0 181.0 134 67 63 24 55 2 131 1.04 3.13
2016 Tor 6 4 0 - 0 18 18 0 116.1 76 42 39 14 42 0 108 1.01 3.02
Career 42 38 0 - 4 206 117 0 838.1 705 381 356 123 243 5 747 1.13 3.82

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Was 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
2009 Was 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
2010 Mil 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Mil 43 12 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .250 .250 .333
2012 Mil 29 40 1 4 2 0 0 3 2 21 0 0 .100 .143 .150
2013 Mil 21 34 1 7 1 0 0 2 1 16 0 0 .206 .229 .235
2014 Mil 39 32 0 3 0 0 0 2 3 13 0 0 .094 .171 .094
2015 Tor 34 6 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2016 Tor 18 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 206 130 4 19 4 0 0 7 7 60 0 0 .146 .190 .177

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Mil Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 6.0 7 4 4 0 2 0 9 6.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.0 3 0 0 0 0 0 5 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.0 4 4 4 0 2 0 4 12.00
2015 Tor Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 19.1 14 5 5 2 1 0 15 2.33
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 5 1 1 0 0 0 4 1.42
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 9 4 4 2 1 0 11 2.77
Career 2 1 0 - 0 7 3 0 25.1 21 9 9 2 3 0 24 3.20


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 865 91 84 88.1 47.87
Curveball 181 82 73 76.2 10.02
Changeup 532 80 71 77.1 29.44
Cut Fastball 229 88 81 86 12.67

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.