MLB Baseball

#58
Jeremy Hellickson
ERA W-L K
3.71 12-10 154
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-1 / 190 NFBC ADP: 471.13
Position: SPBorn: 4/8/1987 Birthplace: Des Moines, Iowa
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Devil Rays (2005)


Latest News
Nov. 14 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Hellickson has passed up free agency and accepted the Phillies' $17.2 million qualifying offer.
Analysis: Hellickson was 12-10 with a 3.71 ERA in a career-high 32 starts and tied a career-best with 189 innings pitched in 2016, his first season with the Phillies. The 29-year-old Hellickson is the lone veteran on a staff filled with talented young pitchers. The Phillies gambled that Hellickson would decline the offer to pursue a multiyear deal on the open market. But teams were reluctant to give up a first-round pick as compensation for signing him.
Sep. 29 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Hellickson had his final start of the season cut short, leaving Thursday's game against the Braves in the fourth inning due to a right knee sprain.
Analysis: Hellickson walked off the field with the team trainer after striking out four and allowing one hit in 3 1/3 scoreless innings. The right-hander, who entered the day with a 12-10 record and a 3.71 ERA, established a career high with his 32nd start of the season.
Sep. 24 9:58 AM PT10:58 AM MT11:58 AM CT12:58 PM ET12:58 ET16:58 GMT0:58 9:58 AM MST11:58 AM EST12:28 PM VEN20:58 UAE11:58 AM CT-Hellickson gave up six runs in 4 1/3 innings in the Phillies' 10-5 loss to the Mets on Friday.
Analysis: Hellickson was coming off his first shutout since 2011 and hadn't allowed an earned run in his last two starts.
Sep. 17 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Hellickson had one of the best outings of his career Saturday, throwing a three-hitter for his second career shutout in an 8-0 win over Miami. His other shutout came May 13, 2011, against Baltimore.
Analysis: Hellickson has allowed no earned runs in his last two starts, spanning 15 1/3 innings. He's 6-2 with a 2.84 ERA in his last 11 starts.
Sep. 12 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Hellickson worked through a rough first inning and threw 6 1/3 innings of one-run baseball in Monday's 6-2 victory over the Pirates. The veteran anchor for a young Phillies pitching staff scattered three hits and struck out six against three walks.
Analysis: Hellickson will make his sixth start of the season on Saturday. He has gone 2-1 with a 2.59 ERA, winning both of his starts behind a 1.93 ERA in the matchups in Philadelphia.
Sep. 8 11:19 AM PT12:19 PM MT1:19 PM CT2:19 PM ET14:19 ET18:19 GMT2:19 11:19 AM MST1:19 PM EST1:49 PM VEN22:19 UAE1:19 PM CT-Hellickson had another uninspiring outing Wednesday, giving up four runs - three earned - and nine hits with only one strikeout in six innings of a 6-0 loss in Miami.
Analysis: The right-hander is 0-2 with a 6.75 ERA in his last three starts. His two outings next week come at home against Pittsburgh and the Marlins. He's 5-3 with a 3.04 ERA in his last 12 starts at Citizens Bank Park with 15 walks and 71 strikeouts.
Aug. 28 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Hellickson gave up five runs and seven hits over just four innings in the Phillies' 12-1 loss to the Mets on Saturday.
Analysis: Hellickson had won four consecutive decisions and six of his last seven, posting a 2.45 ERA over 10 straight solid outings.
Aug. 20 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Hellickson pitched well again Saturday, allowing two runs over seven innings in a 4-2 win over the Cardinals. He also struck out eight.
Analysis: Hellickson has gone 4-0 with a 2.35 ERA over his last six starts for the Phillies.
Aug. 13 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Hellickson's start scheduled for Wednesday has been pushed back tentatively to Saturday.
Analysis: Hellickson left his last start Wednesday at Los Angeles with back spasms. He will be further evaluated before his next start is finalized.
Aug. 11 11:27 AM PT12:27 PM MT1:27 PM CT2:27 PM ET14:27 ET18:27 GMT2:27 11:27 AM MST1:27 PM EST1:57 PM VEN22:27 UAE1:27 PM CT-Hellickson allowed one run and struck out seven in five innings Wednesday against the Dodgers but left after 71 pitches with back tightness.
Analysis: Hellickson said he wanted to keep pitching in the sixth despite feeling "a little tweak," but it was "probably a good thing" that manager Pete Mackanin didn't let him. "I'll probably be sore for a couple of days," said Hellickson, who isn't scheduled to undergo any tests on his back. His next scheduled start is a rematch with the Dodgers on Wednesday.
Aug. 6 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Hellickson improved to 9-7 by beating San Diego on Friday, yielding three runs and six hits in 6 2/3 innings with two walks and three strikeouts.
Analysis: Hellickson was rumored to be on the move prior to the trade deadline but ended up staying put, and clearly the trade talk never bothered him. He's 3-0 with a 2.39 ERA in his last four starts. ''I don't know who offered what, but I'm pitching for these guys and that's it,'' said Hellickson, who has had a quality start in seven of his last nine outings.
July 25 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Hellickson likely added to his trade value Monday when he allowed one hit over six innings in a 4-0 win over the Marlins.
Analysis: Hellickson has been outstanding of late, going 3-1 with a 1.89 ERA in his last six starts. He could very well be moved before the July 31 trade deadline.
July 21 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Hellickson turned in his best start of the season Wednesday, holding Miami to one run and notching eight strikeouts over eight outstanding innings in the Phillies' 4-1 win.
Analysis: Expected to be available at the Aug. 1 deadline, Hellickson has done well to boost his trade value by compiling a 3-1 record and a 2.25 ERA over his past five starts. The Marlins are reportedly one of the teams with interest in the impending free agent.
July 15 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Hellickson had notched four straight quality starts before Friday's loss to the Mets. He allowed four runs and seven hits over six innings.
Analysis: Hellickson has pitched at least six innings in seven consecutive outings and has a 2.90 ERA in the past five.
July 6 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Hellickson gave up two runs - one earned - and four hits in six innings Wednesday in the Phillies 4-3 win over the Braves.
Analysis: Hellickson, whose name has been mentioned in trade rumors, is 2-0 with a 1.50 ERA in his last three starts.
July 1 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-On Friday, Hellickson (6-6) allowed one run and five hits in six innings, striking out six in a 4-3 win over Kansas City.
Analysis: He was 0-9 in his previous 15 starts against AL opponents.
June 26 8:48 AM PT9:48 AM MT10:48 AM CT11:48 AM ET11:48 ET15:48 GMT23:48 8:48 AM MST10:48 AM EST11:18 AM VEN19:48 UAE10:48 AM CT-Hellickson gave up two runs and five hits in six innings in the Phillies' 3-2 win over the Giants on Saturday.
Analysis: Hellickson ended a personal four-game losing streak, winning for the first time since May 18. ''He got into a nice rhythm until his back starting acting up,'' Phillies manager Pete Mackanin said. ''Otherwise I would have left him in there he was pitching so well.''
June 11 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Hellickson's positive stretch came to an end Friday when he allowed seven runs and nine hits over six innings in a 9-6 loss at Washington.
Analysis: Hellickson had been 2-1 with a 2.53 ERA over his previous five starts.
May 31 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Hellickson again pitched well despite not receiving a decision Monday against Washington.
Analysis: The right-hander struck out eight while yielding a run on three hits through seven innings, leaving with a lead the Phillies' bullpen failed to hold in the eighth. Hellickson is 2-1 with a solid 2.00 ERA over his past four starts.
May 19 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Hellickson earned his second win in as many starts Wednesday with a 4-2 victory over Miami.
Analysis: Hellickson (4-2, 3.99 ERA) gave up two runs in six innings against the Marlins. He yielded two unearned runs in seven innings in a 3-2 win over Cincinnati on May 13.
May 14 12:03 PM PT1:03 PM MT2:03 PM CT3:03 PM ET15:03 ET19:03 GMT3:03 12:03 PM MST2:03 PM EST2:33 PM VEN23:03 UAE2:03 PM CT-Hellickson struck out nine in seven innings and drove in the go-ahead run on a suicide squeeze, helping the Phillies beat the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Friday night.
Analysis: Hellickson improved to 3-2 as he allowed two unearned runs and four hits.
May 3 11:49 AM PT12:49 PM MT1:49 PM CT2:49 PM ET14:49 ET18:49 GMT2:49 11:49 AM MST1:49 PM EST2:19 PM VEN22:49 UAE1:49 PM CT-Hellickson was torched Monday.
Analysis: Hellickson got chased after 5 1/3 innings. In his first outing against St. Louis since 2011, Hellickson gave up six runs, seven hits and four walks as the Phillies had a six-game winning streak end. "I fell behind too many guys," Hellickson said.
Apr. 28 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Hellickson gave up two hits in seven innings in a 3-0 win over Washington on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Hellickson (2-1, 3.81 ERA) also fanned a season-high eight after giving up 10 runs in 7 1/3 innings in his previous two starts.
Apr. 11 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Hellickson picked up his first win after holding the Mets to two runs and three hits in 5 2-3 innings on Sunday.
Analysis: He walked one and struck out five in his second straight solid start to open the season.
Apr. 5 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Hellickson allowed just one unearned run in six innings of Monday's season opener, though the Phillies' bullpen blew his late lead.
Analysis: He surrendered three hits and didn't walk anyone while striking out six.
Mar. 24 12:29 AM PT1:29 AM MT2:29 AM CT3:29 AM ET3:29 ET7:29 GMT15:29 12:29 AM MST2:29 AM EST2:59 AM VEN11:29 UAE1:29 AM CT-Hellickson will be the starting pitcher for the Philadelphia Phillies in their season opener at Cincinnati on April 4. Manager Pete Mackanin made the announcement Wednesday before the Phillies exhibition game against Houston.
Analysis: Hellickson, 28, went 9-12 with the Arizona Diamondbacks last season before being traded to the Phillies on Nov. 14. He has given up one run in three starts this spring and is scheduled to pitch again Friday. Aaron Nola will pitch the Phillies' second game at Cincinnati on April 6, and will start the home opener April 11 against San Diego.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 TB 4 0 0 - 1 10 4 0 36.1 32 14 14 5 8 2 33 1.10 3.47
2011 TB 13 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 189.0 146 64 62 21 72 8 117 1.15 2.95
2012 TB 10 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 177.0 163 68 61 25 59 3 124 1.25 3.10
2013 TB 12 10 0 - 0 32 31 0 174.0 185 103 100 24 50 0 135 1.35 5.17
2014 TB 1 5 0 - 0 13 13 0 63.2 71 35 32 8 21 1 54 1.45 4.52
2015 Ari 9 12 0 - 0 27 27 0 146.0 151 79 75 22 43 3 121 1.33 4.62
2016 Phi 12 10 0 - 0 32 32 1 189.0 173 86 78 24 45 0 154 1.15 3.71
Career 61 58 0 - 1 174 167 3 975.0 921 449 422 129 298 17 738 1.25 3.90

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 TB 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 TB 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 TB 32 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2015 Ari 29 41 3 9 0 0 0 7 2 14 0 0 .220 .283 .220
2016 Phi 32 54 3 9 1 0 0 4 4 24 0 0 .167 .224 .185
Career 176 101 6 19 1 0 0 11 6 41 0 0 .188 .245 .198

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 3 1 0 1 6.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 3 1 0 1 6.75
2013 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 5.0 5 3 3 3 3 0 1 5.40


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1451 93 81 90 49.64
Curveball 445 81 70 76.7 15.22
Changeup 753 85 75 80.5 25.76
Cut Fastball 274 89 78 85.6 9.37

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.