MLB Baseball

#62
Sean O'Sullivan
ERA W-L K
6.75 2-0 13
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-1 / 245
Position: SPBorn: 9/1/1987 Birthplace: San Diego, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Angels (2005)


Latest News
July 10 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-O'Sullivan has been placed on the 15-day disabled list with left knee tendinitis.
Analysis: The move clears a roster spot for newly acquired reliever Brad Ziegler and likely gives the struggling Clay Buchholz another chance to replace O'Sullivan in Boston's rotation.
July 4 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Red Sox manager John Farrell hinted right-hander O'Sullivan will remain in the rotation after Sunday's solid start in which he threw five-plus scoreless innings.
Analysis: There is a good chance O'Sullivan will continue to start with floundering Clay Buchholz going back to the bullpen, his second such demotion this season.
July 3 5:44 PM PT6:44 PM MT7:44 PM CT8:44 PM ET20:44 ET0:44 GMT8:44 5:44 PM MST7:44 PM EST8:14 PM VEN4:44 UAE (+1)7:44 PM CT-O'Sullivan provided the Red Sox with a boost Sunday, holding the Angels scoreless into the sixth inning before allowing two runs over five-plus innings in a 10-5 win.
Analysis: O'Sullivan made his first start since May 15 hours after he was recalled from Triple-A Pawtucket. He likely earned himself another start in place of the struggling Clay Buchholz.
May 6 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-The Red Sox have brought up O'Sullivan from Pawtucket and optioned left-hander Henry Owens to the Triple-A farm team.
Analysis: The 28-year-old O'Sullivan was 2-2 with a 3.00 ERA in five starts at Pawtucket. He has an 11-23 record with a 5.95 ERA in 52 starts and 14 relief appearances for the Los Angeles Angels (2009-10), Kansas City (2010-11), San Diego (2013) and Philadelphia.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 LAA 4 2 0 - 0 12 10 0 51.2 60 34 34 12 16 1 29 1.47 5.92
2010 LAA 1 0 0 - 0 5 1 0 13.0 7 3 3 1 4 2 6 0.85 2.08
2010 KC 3 6 0 - 0 14 13 0 70.2 83 50 48 14 27 0 37 1.56 6.11
2010 Tot 4 6 0 - 0 19 14 0 83.2 90 53 51 15 31 2 43 1.45 5.49
2011 KC 2 6 0 - 1 12 10 0 58.1 78 52 47 10 26 1 19 1.78 7.25
2013 SD 0 2 0 - 0 7 3 0 25.0 31 12 11 0 14 1 12 1.80 3.96
2014 Phi 0 1 0 - 0 3 2 0 12.2 15 9 9 3 2 0 7 1.34 6.39
2015 Phi 1 6 0 - 0 13 13 0 71.0 94 49 48 16 20 5 35 1.61 6.08
2016 Bos 2 0 0 - 0 5 4 0 21.1 30 17 16 3 6 0 13 1.69 6.75
Career 13 23 0 - 1 71 56 0 323.2 398 226 216 59 115 10 158 1.58 6.01

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 LAA 12 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2010 LAA 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Tot 19 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 SD 7 6 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .333
2014 Phi 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Phi 13 20 2 2 1 0 0 0 1 10 0 0 .100 .143 .150
Career 71 33 3 4 2 0 0 0 1 17 0 0 .121 .147 .182


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 204 93 86 90.1 56.98
Curveball 40 76 71 73.2 11.17
Slider 102 85 76 81.1 28.49
Changeup 9 81 78 79.7 2.51
Cut Fastball 3 87 85 86 .84

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.