MLB Baseball

#22
Jason Heyward
AVG HR RBI
.229 7 45
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 240 NFBC ADP: 66.31
Position: RFBorn: 8/9/1989 Birthplace: Ridgewood, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Braves (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 24 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Heyward was hitless in three at-bats in Saturday's 10-4 loss to the Cardinals.
Analysis: Heyward is batting .145 in 16 games against his former team this season but is 6 for 14 lifetime against Carlos Martinez, St. Louis' scheduled starter for Sunday.
Sep. 19 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-A surging Heyward contributed a two-run homer to Monday's win over Cincinnati.
Analysis: After going through an 0-for-23 stretch from Sept. 5-13 that dropped his average to .223, Heyward is 7 for 15 with three extra-base hits over his last four games. He's handled Cincinnati pitching well all year long, posting a .327 average and 14 RBIs in 13 meetings.
Sep. 5 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Heyward was the hero in Sunday's 3-2, 13-inning victory over San Francisco, as he drove in each Chicago run on three separate singles.
Analysis: Heyward's second hit tied the game in the ninth and he won it with a one-out single in the 13th. The outfielder has been better since being benched four straight games in mid-August, returning to hit .308 with nine RBIs in 13 games following the sit-down.
Sep. 1 9:31 AM PT10:31 AM MT11:31 AM CT12:31 PM ET12:31 ET16:31 GMT0:31 9:31 AM MST11:31 AM EST12:01 PM VEN20:31 UAE11:31 AM CT-Heyward followed his first hitless game in two weeks with a 2-for-3 effort Wednesday, driving in a run and scoring one in a win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: An ugly offensive season for Heyward has found an uptick as the veteran outfielder has hit .391 in his last six games.
Aug. 29 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Heyward singled twice Sunday to give him a seven-game hitting streak.
Analysis: Heyward is batting .333 during that run after entering with a .225 average.
Aug. 14 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Heyward was 1 for 4 in the Cubs' 8-4 loss to the Cardinals on Saturday.
Analysis: Heyward, who has not had a multihit game since Aug. 1, and is just 5 for 32 in his last eight contests, is 1 for 18 lifetime against Mike Leake, St. Louis' scheduled starter for Sunday.
July 18 10:56 AM PT11:56 AM MT12:56 PM CT1:56 PM ET13:56 ET17:56 GMT1:56 10:56 AM MST12:56 PM EST1:26 PM VEN21:56 UAE12:56 PM CT-Heyward went hitless for a fourth straight game Sunday.
Analysis: Heyward is 0-for-14 since his average reached .247, the highest it had been since early April. He's batting .215 at Wrigley Field
July 9 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Heyward had three hits Saturday.
Analysis: Heyward is 7 for 13 in the last three games, but the Cubs have dropped all of them.
July 8 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Heyward had two hits Friday.
Analysis: Heyward has back-to-back two-hit games and is batting .304 in his last 12 games.
July 4 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-On Monday, Heyward responded with a solid day at the plate after being dropped from second to sixth in the batting order with a two-run double and two hits overall.
Analysis: Heyward is batting .333 in his last five home games.
June 13 8:11 AM PT9:11 AM MT10:11 AM CT11:11 AM ET11:11 ET15:11 GMT23:11 8:11 AM MST10:11 AM EST10:41 AM VEN19:11 UAE10:11 AM CT-Heyward boosted his average with three hits - including a double - in Chicago's 13-2 win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Heyward is 6 for 9 with a home run, two doubles and five runs scored in his last two games. He's raised his average from .221 to .240 in that span. Keep an eye on this situation.
June 7 9:46 PM PT10:46 PM MT11:46 PM CT12:46 AM ET0:46 ET4:46 GMT12:46 9:46 PM MST11:46 PM EST12:16 AM VEN8:46 UAE11:46 PM CT-Heyward hit a two-run homer and the Cubs held off the Philadelphia Phillies 6-4 on Monday night.
Analysis: This was Heyward's 100th career homer.
May 29 11:38 AM PT12:38 PM MT1:38 PM CT2:38 PM ET14:38 ET18:38 GMT2:38 11:38 AM MST1:38 PM EST2:08 PM VEN22:38 UAE1:38 PM CT-Heyward doubled twice Saturday.
Analysis: Heyward is scuffling with a .619 OPS.
May 20 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Heyward will miss three to five games after sustaining a bruise near his ribs in Friday's win at San Francisco.
Analysis: Heyward was hurt crashing into the right field wall while making a diving catch in the first inning. Though it appears he avoided a major injury, the outfielder could be held out for the remainder of Chicago's current road trip.
May 15 10:09 AM PT11:09 AM MT12:09 PM CT1:09 PM ET13:09 ET17:09 GMT1:09 10:09 AM MST12:09 PM EST12:39 PM VEN21:09 UAE12:09 PM CT-Heyward went 3 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Heyward is 9 for 24 in a six-game hit streak.
May 5 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Heyward returned from a wrist injury after center fielder Dexter Fowler was ejected for arguing balls and strikes.
Analysis: Heyward was held out of the starting lineup against Washington on Thursday night for the fourth straight game, but he tested his ailing wrist during batting practice. He had planned to return on Friday, but trotted out to center after Fowler was tossed for arguing with home plate umpire Vic Carpazza after he struck out looking to end the third.
Apr. 25 12:12 PM PT1:12 PM MT2:12 PM CT3:12 PM ET15:12 ET19:12 GMT3:12 12:12 PM MST2:12 PM EST2:42 PM VEN23:12 UAE2:12 PM CT-Heyward rocked the fantasy world Sunday.
Analysis: Heyward had four hits and three RBIs in a complete effort. He went 9 for 17 in the four-game series.
Apr. 5 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Heyward logged his first hit with the Cubs in Monday's opener, a seventh-inning bloop double during a 9-0 win over the Angels.
Analysis: He was a prized offseason acquisition and hit out of the No. 2 hole on opening day.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Atl 142 520 83 144 29 5 18 72 91 128 11 6 .277 .393 .456
2011 Atl 128 396 50 90 18 2 14 42 51 93 9 2 .227 .319 .389
2012 Atl 158 587 93 158 30 6 27 82 58 152 21 8 .269 .335 .479
2013 Atl 104 382 67 97 22 1 14 38 48 73 2 4 .254 .349 .427
2014 Atl 149 573 74 155 26 3 11 58 67 98 20 4 .271 .351 .384
2015 StL 154 547 79 160 33 4 13 60 56 90 23 3 .293 .359 .439
2016 ChC 136 511 57 117 24 1 7 45 50 89 9 4 .229 .303 .321
Career 971 3516 503 921 182 22 104 397 421 723 95 31 .262 .346 .415

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Atl Total 4 16 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .125 .176 .125
    LDS 4 16 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .125 .176 .125
2012 Atl Total 1 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .400
    WC 1 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2013 Atl Total 4 18 1 3 0 0 1 4 0 7 0 0 .167 .167 .333
    LDS 4 18 1 3 0 0 1 4 0 7 0 0 .167 .167 .333
2015 StL Total 4 14 2 5 1 0 1 2 2 2 0 0 .357 .438 .643
    LDS 4 14 2 5 1 0 1 2 2 2 0 0 .357 .438 .643
Career 13 53 3 11 2 0 2 6 3 18 0 0 .208 .250 .358


w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.