Listen now:
NBC Sports: Click here for NBC Sports Radio live
MLB Baseball
All Sports | Scoreboard | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#24
Pedro Alvarez
AVG HR RBI
.247 21 66
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-3 / 235 NFBC ADP: 205.08
Position: 1BBorn: 2/6/1987 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2008)


Latest News
Aug. 18 9:52 AM PT10:52 AM MT11:52 AM CT12:52 PM ET12:52 ET16:52 GMT0:52 9:52 AM MST11:52 AM EST12:22 PM VEN20:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Alvarez went 2 for 4 and homered for a second straight game on Monday.
Analysis: The home run was Alvarez's fourth in seven games and he's gone 12 for 25 with six RBIs during that stretch.
Aug. 17 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Alvarez finished a strong road trip by going 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBI in Sunday's win over the Mets.
Analysis: Alvarez had three homers and five RBIs over the six-game trip, during which he went 10 for 21.
Aug. 14 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE2:38 PM CT-Alvarez is swinging the bat well for the Pirates. He went 3 for 4 with his 17th home run in Thursday's 10-5 win at St. Louis.
Analysis: Alvarez has gone 7 for 14 with two homers and two doubles over his last four games.
July 25 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Alvarez homered for the second straight game Friday, belting his 14th in a 7-5 win over Washington.
Analysis: Alvarez had been 7 for 47 (.149) with one homer over his previous 14 games.
June 28 10:52 AM PT11:52 AM MT12:52 PM CT1:52 PM ET13:52 ET17:52 GMT1:52 10:52 AM MST12:52 PM EST1:22 PM VEN21:52 UAE12:52 PM CT-Alvarez had two hits and drove in two runs for the second straight game in an 8-4 win over Atlanta on Saturday.
Analysis: Alvarez, now batting .243 with 34 RBIs, was 5 for 27 (.185) with two RBIs in a previous 11-game stretch.
June 27 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Alvarez had two hits and drove in two runs in a 3-2 win in 10 innings over Atlanta on Friday.
Analysis: Alvarez was 5 for 27 (.185) in his previous 11 games. He had three RBIs in his prior 18.
May 30 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Alvarez had two hits and drove in two runs in a 6-2 loss to San Diego on Friday night.
Analysis: Alvarez is hitting .357 (15 for 42) with four homers and 10 RBIs in his last 12 games, raising his average from .202 to .247.
May 26 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Alvarez was 2 for 4 and homered for his second straight game Monday against the Marlins.
Analysis: Alvarez has found his groove over his last eight games, going 11 for 29 with four home runs and six RBIs.
Apr. 11 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Alvarez was 2 for 4 with a home run for the second straight game Friday at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Hitting .357 with four RBIs in four games, Alvarez is off to a fast start.
Apr. 10 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Alvarez was 2 for 4 with his first home run of the season Thursday at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Alvarez is looking to bounce back from a disappointing 2014 when he hit 18 homers after blasting a career-high 36 a year earlier.
Feb. 18 11:15 AM PT12:15 PM MT1:15 PM CT2:15 PM ET14:15 ET19:15 GMT3:15 12:15 PM MST2:15 PM EST2:45 PM VEN23:15 UAE1:15 PM CT-Alvarez has beaten the Pittsburgh Pirates in salary arbitration. Alvarez was awarded a $5.75 million salary on Thursday.
Analysis: Alvarez, 28, hit .231 with 18 homers and 56 RBIs last year, his poorest season since 2011. He has made 79 errors at third base during the last three seasons, and the Pirates plan to shift him to first.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Pit 95 347 42 89 21 1 16 64 37 119 0 0 .256 .326 .461
2011 Pit 74 235 18 45 9 1 4 19 24 80 1 0 .191 .272 .289
2012 Pit 149 525 64 128 25 1 30 85 57 180 1 0 .244 .317 .467
2013 Pit 152 558 70 130 22 2 36 100 48 186 2 0 .233 .296 .473
2014 Pit 122 398 46 92 13 1 18 56 45 113 8 3 .231 .312 .405
2015 Pit 119 365 49 90 17 0 21 66 33 108 2 0 .247 .309 .466
Career 711 2428 289 574 107 6 125 390 244 786 14 3 .236 .307 .440

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 6 20 4 6 1 0 3 7 2 7 0 0 .300 .348 .800
    WC 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 5 17 4 6 1 0 3 6 2 6 0 0 .353 .421 .941
Career 6 20 4 6 1 0 3 7 2 7 0 0 .300 .348 .800


w10 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.