Listen now:
NBC Sports: Click here for NBC Sports Radio live
MLB Baseball
All Sports | Scoreboard | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#38
Tyson Ross
ERA W-L K
3.27 10-9 176
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230 NFBC ADP: 96.93
Position: SPBorn: 4/22/1987 Birthplace: Berkeley, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Athletics (2008)


Latest News
Sep. 1 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Ross was brilliant Monday.
Analysis: Ross held Texas to three hits in seven innings and hit an RBI single, and the San Diego Padres won 7-0, handing the Rangers just their third loss in 10 games. The dominating performance by Ross (10-9) allowed him to reach double digits in victories for the second straight season. He struck out seven and walked two in his second victory over Texas this season.
Aug. 27 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Ross earned his first win in four starts Wednesday against Washington and went 2 for 2 at the plate.
Analysis: Ross (9-9, 3.42 ERA) got plenty of support while giving up four runs in 6 1-3 innings. He aided his own cause by scoring a run in his first career multihit game.
July 3 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Ross had his third straight quality start Thursday, though he wasn't credited with the victory in the Padres' 5-3 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Ross gave up three runs over six innings.
June 27 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Ross overcame control problems to combine on a two-hitter and boost San Diego to a 4-2 win over Arizona on Friday night.
Analysis: Ross (5-7, 3.57 ERA) struck out seven in six innings but tied his season high with five walks, including walking the bases loaded in the third that led to the Diamondbacks' two runs. Ross had a complete-game victory over Arizona in his previous start June 20 and is 2-0 with a 2.14 ERA in three matchups this season.
June 21 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Ross turned in his third career complete game in an 8-1 victory for the San Diego Padres over the Arizona Diamondbacks on Saturday night.
Analysis: Ross, who matched his season high with nine strikeouts and walked one, had two complete games for San Diego last year. He also drove in a run with his first career triple, then scored for a fantasy boost to his owners.
June 11 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Ross fell to 3-6 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Ross allowed three runs on nine hits and two walks in six innings. "They didn't hit him real hard," said Padres manager Bud Black.
June 6 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Ross earned his first win in four starts with a 6-2 victory over Cincinnati on Friday night.
Analysis: Ross (3-5, 3.75 ERA) won his fourth consecutive start against the Reds by allowing two runs in five innings while striking out seven.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Oak 1 4 1 - 2 26 2 0 39.1 39 24 24 4 20 0 32 1.50 5.49
2011 Oak 3 3 0 - 0 9 6 0 36.0 33 12 11 1 13 1 24 1.28 2.75
2012 Oak 2 11 0 - 0 18 13 0 73.1 96 56 53 7 37 3 46 1.81 6.50
2013 SD 3 8 0 - 0 35 16 0 125.0 100 51 44 8 44 4 119 1.15 3.17
2014 SD 13 14 0 - 0 31 31 2 195.2 165 75 61 13 72 2 195 1.21 2.81
2015 SD 10 9 0 - 0 28 28 1 165.0 149 67 60 5 74 3 176 1.35 3.27
Career 32 49 1 - 2 147 96 3 634.1 582 285 253 38 260 13 592 1.33 3.59

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Oak 26 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Oak 18 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 SD 36 33 0 6 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .182 .182 .182
2014 SD 32 56 6 10 1 0 0 3 3 22 0 0 .179 .230 .196
2015 SD 28 48 5 12 1 1 1 4 0 15 0 0 .250 .250 .375
Career 149 140 11 28 2 1 1 7 3 57 0 0 .200 .221 .250


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1396 97 88 93 51.14
Slider 1166 90 81 86.6 42.71
Changeup 16 90 86 88.1 .59
Cut Fastball 152 94 86 90.5 5.57

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.