MLB Baseball
All Sports | Playoffs | Scoreboard | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#49
Chris Sale
ERA W-L K
2.17 12-4 208
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-6 / 180 NFBC ADP: 46.61
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 25 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Sale didn't record a decision in Wednesday's 6-1 loss to Detroit, giving up a run in six innings.
Analysis: It was a nice bounce-back effort for Sale, who had given up a season-high five runs in a 6-2 loss to Kansas City in his previous start.
Sep. 12 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Sale allowed two hits over eight innings in Thursday's 1-0 win over Oakland.
Analysis: He bettered Scott Kazmir to pick up his 12th win and saw his ERA dip to 1.99 while his opponents' average is down to .198.
Aug. 13 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE2:47 PM CT-Sale allowed just four hits while striking out 12 in eight scoreless innings of Tuesday's win over San Francisco but didn't earn the decision.
Analysis: The Chicago ace has received a total of two runs of support in his last two starts. He's 0-1 in that time with a 1.29 ERA and .146 opponents' batting average.
Aug. 2 11:29 AM PT12:29 PM MT1:29 PM CT2:29 PM ET14:29 ET18:29 GMT2:29 11:29 AM MST1:29 PM EST1:59 PM VEN22:29 UAE1:29 PM CT-Sale wasn't himself Friday.
Analysis: The fantasy stud gave up five runs in six innings with seven strikeouts. He faces the Rangers next.
July 27 11:09 AM PT12:09 PM MT1:09 PM CT2:09 PM ET14:09 ET18:09 GMT2:09 11:09 AM MST1:09 PM EST1:39 PM VEN22:09 UAE1:09 PM CT-Sale tied a season high with 12 strikeouts in eight dominant innings as the White Sox beat Minnesota 7-0 on Saturday night for his 10th victory of the season.
Analysis: Sale scattered five hits - all singles - and became the first White Sox starter to win 10 of his first 11 decisions in a season since Mark Buehrle in 2005. Sale had a double-digit strikeout total for the 15th time in his career, moving him into a tie for second on the team's all-time list with Juan Pizarro. Sale's 1.88 ERA is the lowest mark among qualified pitchers in the majors, and he's allowed just three earned runs in July.
July 22 12:16 PM PT1:16 PM MT2:16 PM CT3:16 PM ET15:16 ET19:16 GMT3:16 12:16 PM MST2:16 PM EST2:46 PM VEN23:16 UAE2:16 PM CT-Sale allowed one run over seven innings to beat Kansas City 3-1 on Monday.
Analysis: Sale is now 9-1 with a 2.03 ERA on the season. He's posted a 1.33 ERA in his last eight home starts.
July 10 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Sale was solid Wednesday against Boston, yielding a run and four hits over 7 2-3 innings, going without a decision in a 5-4 loss.
Analysis: Sale is 3-0 with a 2.27 ERA in five stars since his last loss.
July 5 10:13 AM PT11:13 AM MT12:13 PM CT1:13 PM ET13:13 ET17:13 GMT1:13 10:13 AM MST12:13 PM EST12:43 PM VEN21:13 UAE12:13 PM CT-Sale struck out a season-high 12 in a complete game and the Chicago White Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 7-1 on Friday night.
Analysis: Sale (8-1, 2.16 ERA) allowed six hits and walked none in his fourth double-digit strikeout game of the season and 14th of his career. The winning decision was his third in a row.
June 29 9:54 AM PT10:54 AM MT11:54 AM CT12:54 PM ET12:54 ET16:54 GMT0:54 9:54 AM MST11:54 AM EST12:24 PM VEN20:54 UAE11:54 AM CT-Sale improved to 7-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Sale pitched seven innings as he allowed two runs and four hits, walked a season-high five and struck out six. He faces the M's next.
June 24 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Sale did not get a decision for Chicago on Monday.
Analysis: Sale gave up a career-high 11 hits in six innings but was in position to earn his seventh win after leaving with a 3-2 lead. The left-hander walked one, hit a batter and had a season-low three strikeouts. He faces the Jays next.
June 2 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Sale allowed a run and two hits while striking out nine in a complete-game victory against San Diego on Sunday.
Analysis: The ace has allowed just two runs and four hits while striking out 33 in 25 innings over his last four starts.
May 23 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Sale allowed one hit over six scoreless innings in a 3-2 win over the Yankees on Thursday.
Analysis: It was Sale's first outing since coming off the disabled list. He's 4-0 with a 1.89 ERA in five starts this season.
Apr. 21 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-The Chicago White Sox reinstated Sale from the 15-day disabled list before Thursday's start against the New York Yankees.
Analysis: An All-Star the past two seasons, Sale went on the disabled list April 22 with a flexor strain in his left arm. He allowed one run and one hit in seven innings against Boston on April 17 in his previous start, throwing a career-high 127 pitches, and reported he was sore the next day.
Apr. 18 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Sale was on the wrong end of a pitching duel with Boston's Jon Lester in a 3-1 loss Thursday night.
Analysis: Xander Bogaerts homered with two out in the sixth for Boston's only hit off Sale, who was seeking his fourth win in as many starts. He fanned a season-high 10 in his seven innings Thursday.
Apr. 12 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Sale went only five innings Friday against the Indians but got the win after allowing three runs and six hits over five innings.
Analysis: Sale has enjoyed an average of 6.64 runs of support thus far - likely a nice change for the left-hander after he averaged 3.19 runs of support in 2013 while going 11-14.
Apr. 7 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Sale gave up four singles in eight scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Royals 5-1 in a pitching duel between top starters.
Analysis: Sale struck out six and walked one. In his previous four starts against the Royals, the White Sox had backed him with one run, enough to beat James Shields 1-0 in the 2012 opener. He is a fantasy stud for sure.
Apr. 1 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Sale allowed three runs, five hits and struck out eight in 7 1-3 innings, earning the win in Monday's season-opening 5-3 victory over Minnesota.
Analysis: Sale was terrific against the Twins, who can't seem to figure him out. Sale is now 5-1 with a 2.75 ERA in six career starts versus Minnesota.
Feb. 28 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE10:49 PM CT-Sale struck out four in 2 2-3 scoreless innings Friday. He gave up one hit and walked none.
Analysis: Sale made his exhibition debut.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 CWS 2 1 4 - 4 21 0 0 23.1 15 5 5 2 10 0 32 1.07 1.93
2011 CWS 2 2 8 - 10 58 0 0 71.0 52 22 22 6 27 3 79 1.11 2.79
2012 CWS 17 8 0 - 1 30 29 1 192.0 167 66 65 19 51 5 192 1.14 3.05
2013 CWS 11 14 0 - 0 30 30 4 214.1 184 81 73 23 46 2 226 1.07 3.07
2014 CWS 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 2 174.0 129 48 42 13 39 2 208 0.97 2.17
Career 44 29 12 - 15 165 85 7 674.2 547 222 207 63 173 12 737 1.07 2.76

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 CWS 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 165 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1459 98 85 93.8 53.09
Slider 508 84 71 79.8 18.49
Changeup 781 89 78 84.7 28.42

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.