MLB Baseball

#31
Drew Pomeranz
ERA W-L K
2.84 8-8 126
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-6 / 240 NFBC ADP: 395.15
Position: SPBorn: 11/22/1988 Birthplace: Collierville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 1st Round by Indians (2010)


Latest News
July 25 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Pomeranz pitched well in his second start with Boston, but Justin Verlander was better in a 4-2 loss to the Tigers. The left-hander allowed two runs and four hits while striking out seven over six innings.
Analysis: Pomeranz, who has a 2.84 ERA on the season, had given up five runs in three innings in his Boston debut.
July 15 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Pomeranz's debut for the Red Sox wasn't a good one. He held the Giants scoreless for three innings Wednesday but failed to retire any of the seven batters he faced in the fourth, getting charged with five runs and eight hits in an 11-7 victory.
Analysis: Pomeranz had gone 8-7 with a 2.47 ERA in 17 starts for the Padres but struggled to protect an eight-run lead in his first game for Boston. It marked his shortest start of the season. He'll try again Monday against Detroit at Fenway Park.
July 14 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-The Red Sox reportedly bolstered their pitching staff Thursday by acquiring Pomeranz from the Padres. The San Diego Union-Tribune initially reported the deal and multiple outlets confirmed the left-hander had been traded to the Red Sox.
Analysis: Pomeranz was 8-7 with a 2.47 ERA in 17 starts for the Padres, who obtained him from the Athletics in the offseason for Yonder Alonso and Marc Rzepczynski. He was not initially in San Diego's rotation when spring training started but became the ace for the fourth-place Padres. In 102 innings this season, Pomeranz has a strikeout rate of 10.1 per nine innings and a 47.8 ground ball rate. He was named to the NL All-Star team as an injury replacement for Noah Syndergaard.
July 9 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Pomeranz was named to the NL All-Star team as an injury replacement for the Mets' Noah Syndergaard.
Analysis: The host Padres will now have two representatives for Tuesday's Midsummer Classic. Pomeranz earned the nod by ranking among the NL leaders with a 2.47 ERA and producing 11 quality starts in 17 appearances.
July 8 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Pomeranz gave an outstanding performance Thursday, allowing two hits and striking out six over seven innings in a 6-0 win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: Pomeranz, who has been the subject of trade rumors, is 3-0 with a 1.33 ERA in his last four starts.
July 3 10:59 AM PT11:59 AM MT12:59 PM CT1:59 PM ET13:59 ET17:59 GMT1:59 10:59 AM MST12:59 PM EST1:29 PM VEN21:59 UAE12:59 PM CT-Pomeranz gave up a run and five hits over seven innings - striking out seven without a walk - in the Padres' 2-1 win over the Yankees on Saturday.
Analysis: Pomeranz is finally fulfilling his expectations. He's holding opponents to an absurd .191 average and striking out 10.33 per nine innings.
June 25 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-Pomeranz drove in a pair of runs and pitched seven innings on Saturday, leading the Padres to a 3-0 victory over the Reds.
Analysis: Pomeranz, who hit his second career homer and had an RBI single, allowed three hits with six strikeouts over seven innings. He has won back-to-back starts and has lowered his ERA to 2.76. He'll make his next start Saturday against the Yankees, against whom he is 1-1 with a 1.00 ERA in two outings.
June 15 10:22 AM PT11:22 AM MT12:22 PM CT1:22 PM ET13:22 ET17:22 GMT1:22 10:22 AM MST12:22 PM EST12:52 PM VEN21:22 UAE12:22 PM CT-Pomeranz got off to another rough start Tuesday and failed to go deep again, giving up all five of the Marlins' runs in the first inning and pitching only five in the 5-2 loss.
Analysis: Pomeranz has been pulled after five innings in three of his last four starts, with 13 of the 14 runs he's allowed coming in the first two innings. The left-hander had a 1.52 ERA at home before struggling Tuesday, when he gave up a grand slam to little-used Jeff Mathis. Pomeranz next faces Washington on Sunday at Petco Park.
June 4 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Pomeranz pitched seven innings of two-hit ball in a 4-0 win over Colorado on Friday night.
Analysis: Pomeranz (5-5, 2.22 ERA) struck out eight while earning his first win in four starts. He gave up a season-high six runs in five innings in a 6-3 defeat to Arizona on May 29.
May 30 12:02 PM PT1:02 PM MT2:02 PM CT3:02 PM ET15:02 ET19:02 GMT3:02 12:02 PM MST2:02 PM EST2:32 PM VEN23:02 UAE2:02 PM CT-Pomeranz was awful Sunday.
Analysis: Pomeranz gave up a season-high six runs, five hits and four walks in five innings with nine strikeouts. His ERA, which had been second to the Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw among qualifying pitchers, rose from 1.70 to 2.48.
May 24 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Pomeranz pitched seven scoreless innings Monday in San Francisco but couldn't earn his third win in four starts.
Analysis: The Giants' Johnny Cueto tossed a two-hitter in a 1-0 victory. Pomeranz (4-4, 1.70 ERA) had to settle for a no-decision. He is 2-1 with a 0.75 ERA in his last four starts.
May 12 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Pomeranz tied a career high with 10 strikeouts in a 1-0 victory over the Chicago Cubs on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Pomeranz (4-3, 1.80 ERA) yielded three hits and three walks over six innings in his second straight win. He has allowed one run in 18 innings in his three starts this month. Pomeranz also fanned 10 in an 8-2 win over Pittsburgh on April 20.
May 7 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE2:53 PM CT-Pomeranz and four relievers combined on a three-hitter in a 2-0 win over the New York Mets on Friday night.
Analysis: Pomeranz (3-3, 2.12 ERA) allowed only a single to Asdrubal Cabrera with two outs in the fourth while striking out five and walking three in five innings. His effort came a night after Colin Rea took a no-hitter into the seventh in San Diego's 5-3 victory.
May 2 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Pomeranz was a tough-luck loser Sunday.
Analysis: Pomeranz gave up one run and seven innings in seven innings opposite fantasy superstar Clayton Kershaw.
Apr. 26 11:58 AM PT12:58 PM MT1:58 PM CT2:58 PM ET14:58 ET18:58 GMT2:58 11:58 AM MST1:58 PM EST2:28 PM VEN22:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Pomeranz was horrible Monday.
Analysis: Pomeranz, coming off a career-best 10 strikeouts against the Pirates his last time out, struck out six more over 4 1-3 innings. He allowed three earned runs on seven hits with three walks and a pair of wild pitches.
Apr. 21 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Pomeranz shined in Wednesday's victory, allowing no earned runs and four hits while fanning 10 over 6 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Pomeranz has pitched well, going 2-1 with a 2.04 ERA in his three outings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Col 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 18.1 19 11 11 0 5 0 13 1.31 5.40
2012 Col 2 9 0 - 0 22 22 0 96.2 97 57 53 14 46 2 83 1.48 4.93
2013 Col 0 4 0 - 0 8 4 0 21.2 25 15 15 4 19 1 19 2.03 6.23
2014 Oak 5 4 0 - 0 20 10 0 69.0 51 22 18 7 26 0 64 1.12 2.35
2015 Oak 5 6 3 - 6 53 9 0 86.0 71 44 35 8 31 1 82 1.19 3.66
2016 SD 8 7 0 - 0 17 17 0 102.0 67 30 28 8 41 2 115 1.06 2.47
2016 Bos 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 12 7 7 3 4 0 11 1.78 7.00
2016 Tot 8 8 0 - 0 19 19 0 111.0 79 37 35 11 45 2 126 1.12 2.84
Career 22 32 3 - 6 126 68 0 402.2 342 186 167 44 172 6 387 1.28 3.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Col 4 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2012 Col 22 26 2 6 2 0 1 1 1 15 0 0 .231 .259 .423
2013 Col 8 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 SD 17 33 2 5 0 0 1 4 0 19 0 0 .152 .152 .242
2016 Tot 19 33 2 5 0 0 1 4 0 19 0 0 .152 .152 .242
Career 126 67 4 12 2 0 2 5 1 38 0 0 .179 .191 .299


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 893 95 82 90.1 47.78
Curveball 736 84 75 79.5 39.38
Changeup 6 85 82 83.7 .32
Cut Fastball 234 89 82 85.8 12.52

w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.