MLB Baseball

#46
David Phelps
ERA S K
3.40 0 62
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-2 / 202 NFBC ADP: 436.01
Position: RPBorn: 10/9/1986 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 14th Round by Yankees (2008)


Latest News
Aug. 26 10:45 PM PT11:45 PM MT12:45 AM CT1:45 AM ET1:45 ET5:45 GMT13:45 10:45 PM MST12:45 AM EST1:15 AM VEN9:45 UAE12:45 AM CT-David Phelps blew his eighth save, allowing one run on one hit and three walks in 0.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Friday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: In his second appearance since returning from an elbow impingement, Phelps came on in the eighth inning and wasn't able to hold a 1-0 lead. The former Yankee may still need some time to shake off the rust after missing around 2 1/2 weeks earlier this month.
Aug. 24 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-David Phelps improved to 4-5, allowing one hit over 0.2 scoreless innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-6 on Wednesday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Phelps came up big by getting two outs in the seventh after coming off the disabled list.
Aug. 6 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-The Seattle Mariners reinstated right-hander David Phelps from the 10-day disabled list on Wednesday.
Analysis: Phelps will be in uniform and available for Wednesday night's road game against the Atlanta Braves. Phelps was placed on the 10-day DL with an impingement in his right elbow on Aug. 8.
Aug. 5 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Friday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 31 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-David Phelps improved to 3-5, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 6-4 on Monday. Phelps struck out five, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 29 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-David Phelps fell to 2-5, allowing two runs on four hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the New York Mets 7-5 on Friday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 26 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-David Phelps allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Tuesday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 25 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-0 on Monday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 23 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the New York Yankees 6-5 on Saturday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Monday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 16 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Sunday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 14 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-4 on Friday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:33 AM PT8:33 AM MT9:33 AM CT10:33 AM ET10:33 ET14:33 GMT22:33 7:33 AM MST9:33 AM EST10:03 AM VEN18:33 UAE9:33 AM CT-David Phelps allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 10-8 on Sunday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 9 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Saturday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 6 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 9-6 on Wednesday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 4 5:21 PM PT6:21 PM MT7:21 PM CT8:21 PM ET20:21 ET0:21 GMT8:21 5:21 PM MST7:21 PM EST7:51 PM VEN4:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Tuesday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 2 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 10-3 on Sunday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 1 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-David Phelps fell to 2-4, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2 on Friday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 27 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the New York Mets 6-3 on Tuesday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 25 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-David Phelps allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Sunday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 23 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-0 on Friday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 18 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-David Phelps blew his fifth save, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-4 on Sunday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Normally a pretty dependable reliever, Phelps has struggled to a 10.13 ERA over his last six appearances and doesn't have much fantasy value even when he's going well.
June 17 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-7 on Saturday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 17 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-0 on Friday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 13 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-1 on Tuesday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 10 5:46 PM PT6:46 PM MT7:46 PM CT8:46 PM ET20:46 ET0:46 GMT8:46 5:46 PM MST7:46 PM EST8:16 PM VEN4:46 UAE (+1)7:46 PM CT-David Phelps fell to 2-3, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-6 on Saturday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 8 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-David Phelps allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Wednesday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
June 5 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Sunday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 2 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-5 on Friday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:11 AM PT10:11 AM MT11:11 AM CT12:11 PM ET12:11 ET16:11 GMT0:11 9:11 AM MST11:11 AM EST11:41 AM VEN20:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Thursday. Phelps struck out three, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 29 9:12 AM PT10:12 AM MT11:12 AM CT12:12 PM ET12:12 ET16:12 GMT0:12 9:12 AM MST11:12 AM EST11:42 AM VEN20:12 UAE11:12 AM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-2 on Sunday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 26 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-5 on Friday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:25 AM PT8:25 AM MT9:25 AM CT10:25 AM ET10:25 ET14:25 GMT22:25 7:25 AM MST9:25 AM EST9:55 AM VEN18:25 UAE9:25 AM CT-David Phelps allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3 on Sunday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 21 9:43 AM PT10:43 AM MT11:43 AM CT12:43 PM ET12:43 ET16:43 GMT0:43 9:43 AM MST11:43 AM EST12:13 PM VEN20:43 UAE11:43 AM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-6 on Saturday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 14 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Sunday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 14 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Saturday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 7 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-David Phelps did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the New York Mets 7-0 on Sunday. Phelps struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 4 10:17 PM PT11:17 PM MT12:17 AM CT1:17 AM ET1:17 ET5:17 GMT13:17 10:17 PM MST12:17 AM EST12:47 AM VEN9:17 UAE12:17 AM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 10-6 on Wednesday. Phelps struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-3 on Sunday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Saturday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Saturday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-David Phelps walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Thursday. Phelps did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Feb. 9 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-Phelps won his arbitration case against the Miami Marlins and will have a $4.6 million salary this season.
Analysis: A 30-year-old right-hander, Phelps was 7-6 with a career-best 2.28 ERA in five starts and 59 relief appearances for the Marlins last season, striking out 114 in 68 2/3 innings while walking 38. He earned $2.5 million.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 NYY 4 4 0 - 0 33 11 0 99.2 81 38 37 14 38 2 96 1.19 3.34
2013 NYY 6 5 0 - 1 22 12 0 86.2 88 50 48 8 35 1 79 1.42 4.98
2014 NYY 5 5 1 - 1 32 17 1 113.0 115 62 55 13 46 2 92 1.42 4.38
2015 Mia 4 8 0 - 0 23 19 0 112.0 119 59 56 11 33 0 77 1.36 4.50
2016 Mia 7 6 4 - 10 64 5 0 86.2 61 23 22 6 38 6 114 1.14 2.28
2017 Mia 2 4 0 - 6 44 0 0 47.0 42 20 18 5 21 3 51 1.34 3.45
2017 Sea 2 1 0 - 2 10 0 0 8.2 9 3 3 0 5 0 11 1.62 3.12
2017 Tot 4 5 0 - 8 54 0 0 55.2 51 23 21 5 26 3 62 1.38 3.40
Career 30 33 5 - 20 228 64 1 553.2 515 255 239 57 216 14 520 1.32 3.89

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 NYY 22 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 NYY 32 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Mia 23 34 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 16 0 0 .118 .143 .118
2016 Mia 64 11 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .182 .182 .182
2017 Mia 44 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Tot 54 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 228 52 0 6 0 0 0 1 0 23 0 0 .115 .132 .115

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 NYY Total 0 2 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.1 7 4 3 0 1 0 2 8.10
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 2 1 1 0 0 0 1 6.75
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 5 3 2 0 1 0 1 9.00
Career 0 2 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.1 7 4 3 0 1 0 2 8.10


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 506 98 90 94.4 52.11
Curveball 187 85 79 81.6 19.26
Changeup 3 87 86 86.3 .31
Cut Fastball 275 94 87 91.1 28.32

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.