MLB Baseball

Matt Harvey
2.71 13-8 188
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 217 NFBC ADP: 55.23
Position: SPBorn: 3/27/1989 Birthplace: New London, Connecticut
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Mets (2010)

Latest News
Nov. 5 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Harvey has won the NL Comeback Player of the Year award and Rangers designated hitter Prince Fielder has earned the AL honor.
Analysis: Returning from Tommy John surgery that caused him to miss the 2014 season, Harvey was 13-8 with a 2.71 ERA in 29 starts, helping New York reach the World Series for the first time since 2000.
Oct. 20 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Harvey's arm is sore for the Mets.
Analysis: Harvey is slated to start Game 5 of the NLCS, though manager Terry Collins said at Monday's workout that the stud may not be able to go.
Oct. 6 11:25 AM PT12:25 PM MT1:25 PM CT2:25 PM ET14:25 ET18:25 GMT2:25 11:25 AM MST1:25 PM EST1:55 PM VEN22:25 UAE1:25 PM CT-Harvey finally made it to the New York Mets workout, and he had an explanation plenty of New Yorkers could understand - he was stuck in traffic.
Analysis: When the star pitcher didn't initially show Tuesday, general manager Sandy Alderson did not know why. Alderson believed the Citi Field workout was mandatory for all players. Harvey's agent, Scott Boras, also was in the dark at first. He told The Associated Press by phone he wasn't sure why his client wasn't there. But Harvey eventually showed and apologized for the late arrival.
Sep. 27 10:41 AM PT11:41 AM MT12:41 PM CT1:41 PM ET13:41 ET17:41 GMT1:41 10:41 AM MST12:41 PM EST1:11 PM VEN21:41 UAE12:41 PM CT-Harvey got the victory in a 10-2 win over Cincinnati on Saturday that clinched the NL East title for the New York Mets.
Analysis: Harvey (13-7, 2.80 ERA) gave up two runs in 6 2-3 innings in his fifth consecutive victory. He has a 2.35 ERA in his last 10 starts.
Sep. 21 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-In possibly his final regular-season start, Harvey threw five scoreless innings Sunday against the Yankees.
Analysis: Harvey surrendered only one hit and struck out seven before being pulled after only 77 pitches. He's now up to 176 2-3 innings in his first season back from Tommy John surgery.
Sep. 9 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Mets general manager Sandy Alderson also said Wednesday that the NL East leaders haven't determined how they might use Harvey beyond that in the postseason, if they get that far.
Analysis: Harvey gave up a career high-tying seven runs in 5 1-3 innings Tuesday night during New York's 8-7 win at Washington. The victory gave the Mets a six-game lead over the Nationals. Harvey has thrown 171 2-3 innings this year, his first season since undergoing Tommy John surgery in 2013. Harvey and the Mets want to keep his innings count around 180 to 185 for the regular season.
Sep. 9 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Harvey spit the bit Tuesday.
Analysis: Harvey gave up a career high-tying seven runs on eight hits in 5 1-3 innings and left with New York trailing 7-1. His innings limit has made him the target of tabloid speculation recently and he clearly cracked under the pressure.
Sep. 8 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-The New York Mets haven't abandoned the notion of using right-hander Matt Harvey during a late-season push for the playoffs. Harvey entered Tuesday night's game against the Nationals having pitched 166 1-3 innings this season. The 26-year-old is coming off elbow ligament replacement surgery, and there is some question how he will be used - if at all - after this outing.
Analysis: Harvey's agent, Scott Boras, said Friday that the pitcher should not exceed 180 innings, under orders from Dr. James Andrews, who performed the Tommy John operation. The Mets are being careful with Harvey, but manager Terry Collins said Tuesday: "If the last series of the season means us getting in or out and Matt Harvey needs to pitch, he's pitching. That'll be his playoff. That'll be the biggest game he has to pitch. He said he'll pitch. I believe him."
Sep. 7 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-New York Mets general manager Sandy Alderson expects that Harvey won't pitch beyond 180 innings in the regular season unless needed in the final series in early October. As for the postseason, Harvey's availability will depend partly on how he's used down the stretch for the NL East leaders. Anderson said Monday the plan is not set because he has yet to speak with Harvey's agent, Scott Boras.
Analysis: Alderson said he has spoken to surgeon James Andrews and Harvey. The right-hander has pitched 166 1-3 innings in his first season since Tommy John surgery. On Saturday, Harvey said Andrews advised him not to pitch beyond 180 innings, putting his postseason availability in doubt. On Sunday, Harvey wrote on The Players' Tribune website he would definitely pitch in the postseason.
Sep. 5 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Harvey isn't saying whether he intends to pitch in the playoffs if his team makes it that far.
Analysis: He said Saturday that his surgeon has advised him not to exceed 180 innings this year. Harvey has thrown 166 1-3 innings so far. He is 12-7 with a 2.60 ERA in 25 starts, a year after missing the season while recovering from Tommy John surgery.
Sep. 4 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-The New York Mets say they expect Harvey to make four more starts during the regular season and assume a "reasonable workload" during the playoffs. The right-hander underwent blood tests following his bout with dehydration and was cleared to make his next scheduled start Tuesday against Washington.
Analysis: Harvey missed last season recovering from Tommy John surgery, and his health came into question after he became dehydrated during his latest start Wednesday. He is 12-7 with a 2.60 ERA and has thrown 166 1-3 innings for the NL East leaders, and there are no plans to shut him down at any point, assistant general manager John Ricco said Friday.
Aug. 29 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Harvey pitched six scoreless innings Friday against Boston in his first start in nearly two weeks, but the New York Mets had a seven-game win streak snapped with a 6-4 loss in 10 innings.
Analysis: Harvey (11-7, 2.48 ERA) gave up two hits and one walk while striking out eight in his first start since Aug. 16. He's 3-0 with a 0.86 ERA in his last six outings.
Aug. 21 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Harvey is going to skip his next scheduled start, a planned move by New York in order to help limit the right-hander's innings in his first season back from Tommy John surgery.
Analysis: Mets manager Terry Collins said Harvey will not pitch Sunday at Colorado. Right-handed reliever Logan Verrett (0-1) instead will get the ball. Harvey is 11-7 with a 2.57 ERA after missing last season while recovering from elbow surgery in October 2013. He has thrown 154 innings this season. Collins said the Mets had long planned to give a break to Harvey, adding the team's ace was on board with the idea for the brief letup in his workload.
July 5 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Harvey matched a career high with five walks while giving up three runs over a season-low five innings in a 4-3 loss to the Dodgers on Saturday.
Analysis: Harvey is 2-5 with a 4.35 ERA over his last eight starts.
June 29 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Harvey logged his third straight quality start Sunday, limiting Cincinnati to one run over six innings in the Mets' 2-1 win.
Analysis: Harvey, 7-5 with a 3.08 ERA, wasn't credited with the victory.
June 22 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Harvey lost for the fourth time in sixth starts Sunday despite a strong effort, giving up one run in 6 2-3 innings of a 1-0 defeat at Atlanta.
Analysis: Harvey is 2-5 with a 3.62 ERA since his 5-0 start, though the Mets' offense has rarely showed up behind him. He owns a 2.56 run-support average in that span.
June 17 11:37 AM PT12:37 PM MT1:37 PM CT2:37 PM ET14:37 ET18:37 GMT2:37 11:37 AM MST1:37 PM EST2:07 PM VEN22:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Harvey pitched seven shutout innings and doubled in a run in a 3-2 win over Toronto on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Harvey (7-4, 3.32 ERA) gave up seven runs in six innings in an 8-5 loss to San Francisco on June 10 and was 1-3 with a 7.20 ERA in his previous four starts.
June 11 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET19:44 GMT3:44 12:44 PM MST2:44 PM EST3:14 PM VEN23:44 UAE2:44 PM CT-Harvey gave up seven runs for the second time in four starts Wednesday, matching his career high. He walked two and struck out a career-low two in six innings.
Analysis: The star right-hander, who missed last season while recovering from Tommy John surgery, has allowed 18 earned runs over his last 18 innings. He fell to 15-1 when the Mets score at least four runs for him. "Everything was all over the place," Harvey said.
June 5 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Harvey stopped his three-game losing streak, and the New York Mets picked up a rare road win by beating the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Thursday night.
Analysis: Harvey (6-3, 3.05 ERA) was sharp in his return to Chase Field, where he won his major league debut three years ago. He gave up two runs and struck out nine in seven strong innings for his first win in six starts. Harvey allowed a combined 11 runs in 12 innings in his prior two outings.
May 30 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-The Miami Marlins extended Harvey's winless streak to five starts by beating the New York Mets 4-3 on Friday night.
Analysis: Harvey (5-3) gave up four runs in eight innings and struck out 11, but fell to 0-3 in his last five outings, a string that includes two games in which he pitched shutout ball before leaving in the late innings. The All-Star ace was coming off the worst start of his career, getting tagged for seven runs in four innings at Pittsburgh. After the game, the Mets said they worried the right-hander - coming back from Tommy John surgery this year - was having "dead arm" issues.
May 19 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Harvey struck out nine in eight scoreless innings of the Mets' 14-inning win over St. Louis on Monday.
Analysis: Harvey didn't allow a run and struck out nine for the second straight start.
May 14 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Harvey pitched seven scoreless innings Wednesday.
Analysis: He was given a no-decision after New York's bullpen blew the game late, but Harvey was again fantastic. His ERA is 2.31.
Apr. 26 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Harvey improved to 4-0 after allowing two runs and five hits in 8 2-3 innings in Saturday's 8-2 win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Harvey, who appeared to be fully recovered from an ankle sprain, increased his strikeout total to 31 over 26 2-3 innings.
Apr. 22 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Harvey has a mild left ankle sprain but the team says he will make his next scheduled start Saturday at Yankee Stadium.
Analysis: Harvey left the clubhouse Wednesday afternoon to have his foot examined by a doctor. New York manager Terry Collins told reporters it's a minor issue that Harvey has been pitching through for about a month. The right-hander is 3-0 with a 3.50 ERA in three starts this year since returning from Tommy John surgery that sidelined him last season. He gave up a season-high four runs and eight hits Sunday in a win over Miami, saying afterward he felt ill and got tired.
Apr. 15 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Harvey gave up three runs and struck out eight in six innings of Tuesday's win over Philadelphia.
Analysis: Harvey has won both of his starts, striking out 17 in 12 innings of work.
Apr. 10 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Harvey was excellent in his first start since Aug. 24, 2013, striking out nine and allowing four hits over six scoreless innings in a 6-3 win at Washington on Thursday.
Analysis: Harvey could be in for another dominant performance in his next scheduled start Tuesday against offensively challenged Philadelphia.
Mar. 23 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Bartolo Colon, not Matt Harvey, has been picked to start the New York Mets' opener at Washington on April 6.
Analysis: Harvey is returning from elbow ligament-replacement surgery that has sidelined him since August 2013. He is scheduled to start the third game of the opening series at the Nationals and the second home game - which likely will draw far more fans to Citi Field with Harvey on the mound that it otherwise would.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
2012 NYM 3 5 0 - 0 10 10 0 59.1 42 19 18 5 26 0 70 1.15 2.73
2013 NYM 9 5 0 - 0 26 26 1 178.1 135 46 45 7 31 1 191 0.93 2.27
2015 NYM 13 8 0 - 0 29 29 0 189.1 156 62 57 18 37 2 188 1.02 2.71
Career 25 18 0 - 0 65 65 1 427.0 333 127 120 30 94 3 449 1.00 2.53

Hitting Statistics
2012 NYM 10 18 0 6 2 0 0 3 0 7 0 0 .333 .333 .444
2013 NYM 27 58 2 5 2 0 0 2 1 27 0 0 .086 .102 .121
2015 NYM 29 65 1 7 2 0 1 7 0 31 0 0 .108 .108 .185
Career 66 141 3 18 6 0 1 12 1 65 0 0 .128 .134 .191


Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYM Total 2 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 26.2 21 10 9 2 8 1 27 3.04
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 3 2 0 2 0 7 3.60
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.2 4 2 2 1 2 1 9 2.35
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 10 5 5 1 4 0 11 3.21
Career 2 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 26.2 21 10 9 2 8 1 27 3.04

Hitting Statistics
2015 NYM Total 4 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 4 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1703 99 90 95.7 61
Curveball 354 88 78 83.7 12.68
Slider 395 94 83 89.6 14.15
Changeup 340 92 83 88.1 12.18

w10 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.