MLB Baseball

Chicago Cubs (97-65)

Sun. 10/4 Wed. 10/7 Fri. 10/9 Sat. 10/10 Mon. 10/12
@ Mil
W 3-1
Box | Recap
@ Pit
W 4-0
Box | Recap
@ StL
3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT
@ StL
2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT
vs. StL
3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT

NLDS gives Cubs, Cardinals chance to make new memories

ST. LOUIS (AP) Joe Maddon stepped to the podium spouting names of obscure Cardinals from the past.

The Cubs manager is also a big fan of the game, and in particular an admirer of St. Louis' stature as one of major league baseball's jewel franchises with 11 World Series titles. Every time he comes to town, he finds a way to work Branch Rickey into the conversation, and the eve of the NL Division Series was no exception.

Maddon spotted a photo of 1964 Cardinals World Series stalwarts and said he could name "almost" everybody. He wanted to meet Ed Spiezio, Phil Gagliano and Jerry Buchek, all long-ago St. Louis grinders, and he's pals with Tim McCarver and Mike Shannon.

AVG: A. Rizzo.278
HR: A. Rizzo31
RBI: A. Rizzo101
SB: D. Fowler20
W: J. Arrieta22
ERA: J. Arrieta1.77
Saves: H. Rondon30
K: J. Arrieta236
NL Central
X-St. Louis 10062.617-
Y-Pittsburgh 9864.6052
Y-Chi Cubs 9765.5993
Milwaukee 6894.42032
Cincinnati 6498.39536
Full Standings
General Batting (Rank)
AVG: .244 (28)
Runs: 689 (16)
Hits: 1341 (28)
Home Runs: 171 (12)
Stolen Bases: 95 (9)
OBP: .321 (12)
SLG: .398 (19)
Total Bases: 2186 (19)
General Pitching (Rank)
Earned Run Average: 3.36 (3)
Runs Allowed: 608 (4)
Saves: 48 (7)
Strikeouts: 1431 (1)
OpBA: .233 (1)
OBP: .290 (1)
SLG: .372 (3)
Run Support: 4.24 (15)
Date Player Transactions
10/6 J. Russell Declared Free Agency
10/5 A. Alcantara Called Up from Minors
10/5 D. Beeler Called Up from Minors
10/5 E. Jokisch Called Up from Minors
10/5 J. Motte Removed From 15-Day DL (Right shoulder strain)
Show Transactions
Date Player Status
8/24 J. Motte off 15-day DL
8/24 J. Soler off 15-day DL
8/4 R. Soriano off 15-day DL
7/29 E. Bonifacio off 15-day DL
7/29 N. Ramirez off 15-day DL
Show Injuries

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.