Earnhardt most popular for 15th time

(AP Photo/Terry Renna)

LAS VEGAS (AP) Dale Earnhardt Jr. wrapped up his final season as a NASCAR driver with one last piece of hardware. He won the Most Popular Driver Award on Thursday night for the 15th consecutive time.

The award is based on a fan vote and sponsored by the National Motorsports Press Association. Only Bill Elliott won the award more than Earnhardt - 16 times between 1984 and 2002 - before he removed his name from consideration.

"It always comes back to the fans, it really does, and I've got to thank them for keeping the train on the track and rolling all these years," said Earnhardt, who retired as a full-time driver following NASCAR's season finale. He will move to NBC's broadcasting team next year.


Formula 1 Leaders: Points
1 L.Hamilton 363 9
2 S.Vettel 317 5
3 V.Bottas 305 3
4 K.Raikkonen 205 0
5 D.Ricciardo 200 1
6 M.Verstappen 168 2
7 S.Perez 100 0
8 E.Ocon 87 0
9 C.Sainz Jr. 54 0
10 N.Hulkenberg 43 0
View Full Leaderboard

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.